We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Energetic Walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston Canyon

Johnston Canyon
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Update attraction details
Type: Canyons
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic wooded canyon with trails for hiking and biking.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Energetic Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 NEW via mobile

I did this tour in winter and the scenery was spectacular. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. However, you need to be reasonably fit as its not as easy as the brochure implies. The word 'canyon' gives you a clue - most of the walking is uphill and at times is quite steep. Iam a reasonably fit 50yr old and I struggled in some parts of the walk. You don't walk along the bottom of the canyon, you climb to the top. A good tour though.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    102
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Beatifull in the winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I got to canyon in the morning after snowstorm. The whole area was covered in fresh powder. The place in a winter - is winter wonderland. The high that I did took me to lower and upper fall. Trail was on a icy side even for hiking boots and therefore you need to walk slowly. The water falls were frozen and everything look spectacular for Florida tourists. The air was fresh and clean. The place should be spectacular in a summer as well.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The lower half is very easy and can be done with a stroller as long as you have a jogging type. The day we went we couldn't go the entire way because the slippery ice made pushing our stroller tricky. We should have worn some spikes on our shoes and we would have been fine.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful in winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We booked the half day afternoon tour through Banff discover tours and had a great experience. Our guide Colin was friendly and knowledgable. The canyon itself is beautiful in winter with snow covering everything and the ice walls on the falls and the edges of canyon are spectacular! It's really cool the way there is ice covering the different sets of falls but you can see the running water through the ice like a window.

You could easily do the walk by yourself if you have a car to get there and ice cleats are highly recommended! If you don't have either then booking a tour is a good way of seeing it and having a guide adds to the experience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must see when in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

A beautiful spot to visit, we booked through Discover Banff Tours for morning trip, guide (Nate) was awesome, so much information, we learnt a lot of local history and had a great time.
Early morning trip was less crowded, by lunchtime was getting pretty busy, wear warm clothes, ice cleats were provided and essential for some of the walk.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnston Canyon also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Johnston Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnston Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.