We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, easy and good pics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston Canyon

Johnston Canyon
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Type: Canyons
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic wooded canyon with trails for hiking and biking.
edmonton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun, easy and good pics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The four of us decided to go on this hike. It was very icey due to spring conditions but very fun. You might slip on your bum, but you will not get hurt. Great time, lots of cheap fun

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    139
    20
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Always Majestic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is such a wonderful place. It's the second time we have made the hike. Once in November, covered in new snow fall, and now in April, covered in ice (yes, you need spikes on your shoes). We did not know we would encounter ice, so in our hiking boots we went. The trail is fabulous though. There are short walks through the woods, along the cliffs, down beside the canyon walls with the water rushing below. At the end of the trail (lower falls), you enter a small cave, and out the other side, can hear the power of the tumbling falls. A little further up the trail, you get to enjoy the magic of the upper falls. There's a platform that takes you out for a full view of the falls and the wonderful bright green body of water.

Both times, we have been unable to continue to the ink pots further up the trail. But, it's on my bucket list... Next time... to the ink pots we go.

Take plenty of water and a picnic. Enjoy the many benches along the trail. It's not a long walk, but you could easily make a full day out of this trip. Love it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Perfect for a break from skiing or just enjoy the hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Trail conditions in early April are highly changeable but the day I hiked you did not need crampons except in a few spots. Deep tread hiking boots recommended. Small children may struggle to keep their footing. About 35-45 min to the lower falls and 10 min more to the upper. Trail beyond climbs rapidly and turns away from the river so there is less to see. Bring your camera. Plenty of awesome views.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wow! you must must must see this when you are in the Banff National Park, so beautiful! it's a nice long walk on a slim bridge up the sides of mountains, through caves and you come to this most wonderful waterfall, so beautiful, this is a must see for sure! you will never forget this!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent walk on our own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a beautiful place this is. the snow filled caverns and the ice walk amazing (We did this on our own). The prestine waters which flow from here are amazing unbelievable how clean the snow and water are. The Icicles which form on the side of these mountains are amazing.
The walk was some what of a challege getting there and back, as the trail this time of year is extremely slippery.
Not a trip for those with a heart condition or bad knees.
Definitely worth the trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnston Canyon also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Johnston Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnston Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.