We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view is worth the trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sulphur Mountain

Sulphur Mountain
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Visit Sulphur Mountain like an insider
Top Rated
$91*
and up
Banff City Sightseeing Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hike or ride to the top of this scenic mountain.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Spectacular view is worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Whether you hike up the trail, which is a challenging, steady climbing switchback trail or ride up the Gondola you will be rewarded with an awesome panoramic mountain view and beautiful birds eye view of Banff. W

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    79
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We rode the gondola up to the top of the mountain and enjoyed the view. Due to the fires in western Canada everything was a little hazy but still beautiful. We were a bit concerned because we had a 78 year old man in our group who has trouble getting around but it wasn't a problem. The gondola is enclosed and stops to let people on.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunning Vistas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We took the Sulpher Mountain Gondola from the base to the viewing station at the top of Sulpher Mountain. From here you have spectacular views of Banff (the whole city below), Bow Valley, Lake Minnewanka, and the surrounding mountain ranges. There is an additional walk to the top of a nearby peak that has an old weather station at the top. There are wooden steps and paths to follow, so it's not an "off raod" trek, but I have to say, for us city slickers, used to sea level, the hike is a workout due to the high altitude. Still...I was with my 16 year old son and 22 year old nephew... I wasn't going to be left behind.
It was well worth it. The views from the weather station are even more amazing. Bring a little bread as there are chipmunks that will eat from your hand, climb up your leg.... my son was trying to get him to go up his arm but he had very little bread that he borrowed. The chipmunk was high maintenance and was holding out.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estevan, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Long hike but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We decided to hike to the top of the mountain and take the gondola down. Well it took us just over 2 hrs an we are both in decent shape, it can be challenging at times and seems to never end but once you get to the top all that pain and hard work is worth it!! The view up there is amazing, can see the whole town of banff, the panoramic views are awesome on a clear day! We are a light snack at the snack bar, loaded up on pics and water and took the gondola down ($17.50) per person. The views from there are quite nice too, great to see all your hard work on the trails from above.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was such a great experience! The views from the gondola and at the top were amazing. There is a boardwalk where you can walk around the top of the mountain - definitely recommend as everywhere you look is just stunning.

Recommend buying tickets in advance as the line is very long for the gondola, especially as there are tour groups. Also remember to keep your gondola ticket (if you purchased a round trip) as you need it for the trip back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sulphur Mountain also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sulphur Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sulphur Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.