We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Different View Every Day of the Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sulphur Mountain

Sulphur Mountain
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hike or ride to the top of this scenic mountain.
Fethiye, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Different View Every Day of the Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The gondola ride is a spectacular way to quickly reach the views that will greet you at the top of the mountain, but the hike is even better because you get a great sense of accomplishment from the climb. Either way, you'll meet visitors from around the world.

Each day the panorama presents a different view of the world. (And everything appears to be miniature, from the Banff Springs Hotel to the wandering, emerald green Bow River.) I try to visit several times a year just to enjoy the scenery and fabulous opportunities for photography. Even the cloudy days offer fantastic views of the facing mountain peaks.

Be prepared for all weather. The conditions at the peak can vary drastically from the conditions in the parking lot at the base of the gondola. Sunglasses, sunscreen, comfortable walking shoes, and a jacket are a must.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    44
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took the gondola to the top of Sulphur Mountain and seeing it was repeatedly named as one of the top things to do in Banff.

I was surprised by the price, but thought the facilities at the top would justify the high ticket prices.

The day we went up was cloudy/rainy, so we decided to have a nice lunch in the restaurant to wait out some of the rain. I should have known to turn away when I was handed a cheaply printed paper menu. I could have made a nicer presentation on my home computer. The dinning options were very limited, and overpriced for the quality of what we got. I think we would have been better off in the cafeteria.

The hike to the main lookout was okay. Mostly just stairs, but they did a nice job making it look good. I was surprised that there wasn't anything else there though. You hike to an old weather research hit, then turn around.

I would recommend the hike to anyone, as the views are great. But it's not worth $80 for 2 to take the gondola.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“4 times to the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Each time I've gone to Banff, I've visited the top of Sulphur Mountain, and will do it the next trip too. However, this is the first time I've been fit enough to hike up the mountain. I didn't mind the noise, and you can talk to the people in the gondolas as they go past if you're really friendly. I almost liked this better than Larch Valley since that hike is also mostly switchbacks, but you don't get a warm restaurant at the top. I didn't realize the back trail went to the Cave and Basin area. You could take the bus to the gondola terminal and then hike down to the Cave & Basin area where you could catch a bus to your next destination. The book I had said you'd need two cars, but I think you just need to use the bus system.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Hike to the mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

It is a steep climb to the mountain, and not everyone's cup of tea. Most tourists would take the gondola both ways. We decided to take the hike to the top and marvel at each height of the hike. It is worth taking the hike as soon as you reach the top, a wonderful feeling to appreciate all the beauty surrounding the place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must see while you're in Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I have lost teach of how many times I have been up this mountain! Between hiking up and taking the gondola with visitors, it doesn't get old. If you're here in the summer and fall, I highly recommend hiking up. Depending on your activity level, it takes 2-4 hours. If you don't feel like hiking back down to save your knees, you can take the gondola down (usually) for a discounted price. Not that I have to say it, but you get amazing 360 views from the mountain that you wouldn't want to miss. If you have an extended stay in the Banff/Jasper parks area, you can save some money on two activities by buying a ticket that includes the Athabasca Glacier and the gondola! Don't take my word for it though. Do it yourself! :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sulphur Mountain also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sulphur Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sulphur Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sulphur Mountain to your Saves list