We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sulphur Mountain

Sulphur Mountain
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hike or ride to the top of this scenic mountain.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
155 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were really glad we purchased a Gondola ticket to get to the top of Sulphur Mountain as the views at the top are great. It is very busy and we had to wait in line for some time (30mins at each end) to get both up and back down on the Gondola but it was worth it. At the top you can walk along the board walk and up to the top of the mountain.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    44
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the long hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Decided to save money and hike up rather than take the gondola. It ended up taking us a bit more time/effort than expected, but the views made it all worthwhile. Hike makes for a good workout so bring lots of water.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great view, expensive to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

like most secluded places they sulphur mountain resuturant does not forget to charge, be prepared to pay upwards of 10 dollars per person for a hamburger, 3 dollars for a hot chocolate etc, I love the view from the top and would deffinatly recommend going up there but I would not recommend planning lunch for the top :) check out the obversvation deck upstairs breath taking, but you are on the top of a mountain, watch out for ice,

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband walked up and it took him around two hours and apparently was quite steep in places so you definitely need proper walking boots if you want to do this route. My son and I took the easy way via the gondola and though expensive was well worth the cost.The panorama from the top is amazing.It is also well worth doing the extra boarded walkway to Sanson Peak where again the views are fantastic. There are also information boards to read about the view points and local nature.We thought the restaurant was not too badly priced considering it is up on a mountain and the soup was very good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Well worth the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautiful view of a 360 degree of the Rockies. Lots of steps and not so conducive for elderly with walking issues. Elevator accessibility. Don't get excited about the nutrition at the top. Take snacks and get ready to hike and see beautiful views.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sulphur Mountain also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sulphur Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sulphur Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sulphur Mountain to your Saves list