We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$182*
and up
Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier...
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Eastern Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It is absolutely beautiful, definitely worth the drive! Make sure to have enough gas though as there are very little gas stations on your way through.

If you have the time I recommend stopping at Columbia Icefields for the tours, very interesting!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    88
    21
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are just back from Banff, Lake Louise and the Icefields Parkway. Amazing, mind-blowing mountains and glacial lakes. Go slow and stop at all the turn-outs. You won't be disappointed! There are no gas stations except at the mid-point, so make sure you fill up the car before you start. Also, there is a forest fire burning just south of the Columbia Glacier, and the road was only open 7am to 2 pm last week. Check with the Banff park ranger when you buy your park pass. Unfortunately, the view of the mountains is a bit hazy because of all the smoke. Still worth it! Enjoy, and bring your camera! Trip of a lifetime! July 20, 2014

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Sheep. Glaciers. Mountains. You gotta do it! I would compare it to a similar drive I did between the Yukon and Alaska. Breathtaking. Don't be the driver so you can look around more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Incredible scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We did this as a 4 day bike ride with Mountain Madness Tours which was definitely the way to go if you have the time and (moderate) fitness. Traffic is heavy in places. Scenery is spectacular and in your face.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmen, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the best drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

we have been up there 4 times and it is by far the best drive I've been on .the last time we drove from Banff to jasper and the back again ,I could do this every year

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icefields Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.