We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Icefields Parkway like an insider
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier...
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Falls Village, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Awesome scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Driving along the icefields parkway is a singular travel experience. The road itself is in good shape--but there is no need to hurry along it. Each mile brings beautiful new visitas and the possibility of first-hand viewing of Rocky Mountain wildlife. A camera is a must!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    76
    20
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Best drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Did the drive from Jasper to Lake Louise. It takes most of the day so plan ahead as others mentioned (not too many places to eat). Amazing how you just keep driving and are constantly surrounded by amazing scenery, eventually stopped taking pictures because there was so much :)

Pick a few key points to stop for a hike or other attraction, the day goes fast so there is only so much you can fit into one drive. We did Athabasca Falls, Sunwapta Falls, Columbia Icefield walk on the glacier, and Peyto Lake. Along with many stops for photos. It was very cloudy most of the day for us, but even with that it was still beautiful.

Can't recommend enough, easily one of the most scenic drives I have ever taken.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Du Quoin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Soooo enjoyed this drive. Take your time and take in side roads. There are beautiful sights just off the road in short hikes. Be sure and take it all in! We saw bears, elk, and Rocky Mountain sheep. The waterfall near Jasper is awesome! We took the drive in early June so it was not crowded and the roads were clear.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Icefields”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I liked forming snowballs and throwing them at people. I didn't like them throwing them back. There's a lot of glare coming from the snow so make sure to take shades.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A fantastic scenic journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent a day being driven from Jasper to Banff by coach with several sight-seeing and refreshment stops on the way, including the Athabasca Falls, the Icefields Centre and Athabasca Glacier, Lake Louise and others. Saw a few bears soon after leaving Jasper but no others later - it is just ones luck on the day. One feels in the heart of the Rockies on the drive. Snow capped mountains all round with occasional glimpses of a glacier or two - with the Athabasca being easily the most eye-catching of them. This trip should not be hurried - any opportunity should be taken for photos or filming - but one does need a clear day to appreciate the scenery to the full. We were fortunate - gloriously sunny all the way! We had a coach driver who went out of his way to make sure we were given lots of descriptive and helpful information as we drove and stopped at all the right places for our benefit. A good day was had by all!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icefields Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.