We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$156*
and up
Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Du Quoin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Soooo enjoyed this drive. Take your time and take in side roads. There are beautiful sights just off the road in short hikes. Be sure and take it all in! We saw bears, elk, and Rocky Mountain sheep. The waterfall near Jasper is awesome! We took the drive in early June so it was not crowded and the roads were clear.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    72
    19
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Icefields”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I liked forming snowballs and throwing them at people. I didn't like them throwing them back. There's a lot of glare coming from the snow so make sure to take shades.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“A fantastic scenic journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent a day being driven from Jasper to Banff by coach with several sight-seeing and refreshment stops on the way, including the Athabasca Falls, the Icefields Centre and Athabasca Glacier, Lake Louise and others. Saw a few bears soon after leaving Jasper but no others later - it is just ones luck on the day. One feels in the heart of the Rockies on the drive. Snow capped mountains all round with occasional glimpses of a glacier or two - with the Athabasca being easily the most eye-catching of them. This trip should not be hurried - any opportunity should be taken for photos or filming - but one does need a clear day to appreciate the scenery to the full. We were fortunate - gloriously sunny all the way! We had a coach driver who went out of his way to make sure we were given lots of descriptive and helpful information as we drove and stopped at all the right places for our benefit. A good day was had by all!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Animals Abound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Allow plenty of time for this run and drive slowly as you never know what may be waiting to have their photo opportunity, we say Black Bears a Grizzly Bear dining on the dandelion heads five yards from the road, Elk, Deer and Bald Eagles what a great journey, once in a lifetime viewing, keep your eyes peeled, there is something around every turn that will surprise you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stunning views on every corner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The trouble with this drive is that you just want to take pictures constantly. It is well worth the effort . We drove from south to north.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icefields Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.