We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views on every corner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Icefields Parkway like an insider
Top Rated
$192*
and up
Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier...
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
auckland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stunning views on every corner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The trouble with this drive is that you just want to take pictures constantly. It is well worth the effort . We drove from south to north.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    77
    20
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a Drive !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

When in the Rockies there is fantastic scenery everywhere - but this drive is a different league. This is a section between Banff & Jasper and does require some extra time for stops like the Bow Lake, Peyto Lake, a very high chance to see the Bears - depending on the season. besides these stops you see spectacular sights like the Crowfoot Glacier etc. A visually packed ride this

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“On a Clear Day This Ride is Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I never saw so many snow-covered mountain peaks one after another. Make sure you go when the weather is clear or you will miss the sight. If you are aware of one snow-covered peak as I am (Mount Shasta in California), picture a thousand of them, one after another and you will begin to understand what you will see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great scenic drive and amazing lakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A very scenic drive through the heart of the Rocky Mountains. We didn't see any wildlife though. The day before we drove from banff to radium and saw 3 grizzly bears and 4 black bears but maybe that was just luck... We have done the ice fields drive twice now once in October and once in June. The snow capped mtns in October were probably more spectacular then the mtns looked in June. But if you don't have the luxury of choosing it is still a must do drive while in Canada.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Senic View! (Long drive ;) but woth it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We made this drive in the rain all the way from Banff to The Columbia Icefiels. It took about 3 hours with one stop. The gorgeous mountain scenery was outstanding. The drive is worth it if heading to Lake Louise or further on to the glaciers. I was told to point out in my review that I missed approx 1 hour of this awesome drive because I am embarrassed to say I feel asleep! We had been on the road quite a bit by this point, but I definitely took in all the highlights! Well worth the $20 park entrance fee.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icefields Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.