We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a Clear Day This Ride is Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$188*
and up
Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier...
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“On a Clear Day This Ride is Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I never saw so many snow-covered mountain peaks one after another. Make sure you go when the weather is clear or you will miss the sight. If you are aware of one snow-covered peak as I am (Mount Shasta in California), picture a thousand of them, one after another and you will begin to understand what you will see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    78
    20
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great scenic drive and amazing lakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A very scenic drive through the heart of the Rocky Mountains. We didn't see any wildlife though. The day before we drove from banff to radium and saw 3 grizzly bears and 4 black bears but maybe that was just luck... We have done the ice fields drive twice now once in October and once in June. The snow capped mtns in October were probably more spectacular then the mtns looked in June. But if you don't have the luxury of choosing it is still a must do drive while in Canada.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Senic View! (Long drive ;) but woth it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We made this drive in the rain all the way from Banff to The Columbia Icefiels. It took about 3 hours with one stop. The gorgeous mountain scenery was outstanding. The drive is worth it if heading to Lake Louise or further on to the glaciers. I was told to point out in my review that I missed approx 1 hour of this awesome drive because I am embarrassed to say I feel asleep! We had been on the road quite a bit by this point, but I definitely took in all the highlights! Well worth the $20 park entrance fee.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery but be prepared to get robbed at the toll booth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The icefields parkway is spectacular and definitely one of the worlds greatest drives but the park fees at the toll booth left us flabbergasted as they charge nearly $20 per day (I think for 2 or more people) so as we were travelling around the parks in the area for a few days was very expensive. We have travelled in many US national parks and this was way more than even the 7 day pass for the Grand Canyon which has been the most expensive US national park weve visited. Im glad we saw the Icefields Parkway but if Canada charge this much for their national parks we would rather go south of border next vacation if we want to tour national parks which are just as spectacular!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
427 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A stunningly beautiful drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was awestruck by the stunning beauty of this trip and I've been to Canada, including the Rockies, about half a dozen times. This must be one of the most beautiful drives in the world. And it looks quite different both ways so don't be concerned if you decide to return via the same route.

Take a camera and your binoculars if you're interested in wildlife as you'll see interesting water birds and raptors en route as well as bears, sheep, goats, and elk.

Stop often and enjoy the stunning scenery. Don't rush. Take a flask of tea/coffee and some snacks and enjoy it at one of the many magnificent places en route.

To be safe, as a precaution, fill up with petrol often and take warm clothes, food, water and a torch or candles if travelling at a time when it may snow, even if it's Spring.

Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icefields Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.