We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best one day's drive in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best one day's drive in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have now "done' the Icefields Parkway in Summer (1994) and Winter (2012) and cannot imagine a more awe inspiring single day trip being possible. Even though the various falls (and also Moraine Lake) were not accessible in December and the road was labelled "critical - avoid" by DriveBC, the weather was perfect and our snow tyres did their job. I took hundreds of photos and regretted not taking more! (Take your light reading from the blue sky so your snow doesn't over expose!)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    49
    12
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“A Must, beauty to behold!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Travelled this route in October, awesome beauty of nature! Lots of opportunity to take photos, stop and explore and look at this vast expanse! Not too busy at this time, perfect temp., and weather! I love to stop and just be still and take in the images! Great place to take a packed lunch or snack, fuel up! Take a map to be able to identify the various points of interest!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Spectacular drive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was one of the most beautiful drives I have ever done. I've been to 32 nat. Parks including glacier and none compare. I left Banff at 0700 and arrived in jasper at 1730 and every turn was sensational. I stopped at hector lake (best reflection) early morning. Then bow lake and peyto lake and some beautiful waterfalls.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An amazing Drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just past Lake Louise you take a turning onto the Icefield Parkway. It is at this point you loose phone reception and start one of the most amazing drives in the world. For nearly 300km the scenery just takes your breath away. Leave yourself enough time ot do some of the hikes, they are totally worth it. Keep an eye out for wildlife - especially the goats as they like to eat the grit off the road. We did this drive in the fall so saw maybe 5-7 cars on the whole journey. The drive back was interesting as it had snowed (make sure your car is prepared) but it was equally if not more beautiful.

Enjoy!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“My favourite Alberta highway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The scenery cannot be beat in my opinion. Wildlife abounds, I've spotted moose, bear, elk and deer. The winter drive is the most breathtaking but keep in mind this road is often closed due to weather conditions.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icefields Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Icefields Parkway to your Saves list