We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing Drive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Glacier Skywalk Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An amazing Drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just past Lake Louise you take a turning onto the Icefield Parkway. It is at this point you loose phone reception and start one of the most amazing drives in the world. For nearly 300km the scenery just takes your breath away. Leave yourself enough time ot do some of the hikes, they are totally worth it. Keep an eye out for wildlife - especially the goats as they like to eat the grit off the road. We did this drive in the fall so saw maybe 5-7 cars on the whole journey. The drive back was interesting as it had snowed (make sure your car is prepared) but it was equally if not more beautiful.


Visited October 2012
5 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“My favourite Alberta highway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The scenery cannot be beat in my opinion. Wildlife abounds, I've spotted moose, bear, elk and deer. The winter drive is the most breathtaking but keep in mind this road is often closed due to weather conditions.

Visited May 2012
3 Thank lorna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

WOW... words can not describe what a beautiful drive that this is. I only wish that I had taken more time to take this wonderful drive. It is simply amazing!!! I took many stops along the way to take photos. This is one of the best drives in Canada... it is a must!!!

Visited September 2012
1 Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have driven the parkway many times in all sorts of weather but not for many years. As always, the views took my breath away. I had a visitor from another country with me, first time in our parks, and he was awe-struck by the beauty of the drive. The highway was at time snow-packed, at times bare, but there was hardly any traffic and no problems. There are long stretches of road without signage, and after a change of plan, we actually got onto the wrong road and were heading to BC before we knew it! So double check your bearings and maps! But don't miss out on the drive, even if you only go halfway and exit at Saskatchewan River Crossing...the mountains seem more spectacular than you will see right in Banff or Jasper.

Visited January 2013
4 Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Memorable in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Highly informative, educational and unique (for us as South Africans). We did not have too much time to explore the The Icefields Information Centre as we arrived just in time to get one of the last snowcoach tours for the day, up and onto the glacier. Although expensive we saved a small amount by buying a combo-ticket to do the Sulphur Mntn Gondola ride in Banff, and the Icefields tour. Highlight was the unique 'vehicle' custom built for these rides, and the incredibly personal, personable and informative tour guide in our snowcoach. Other highlight was walking around, in icy weather, feeling like intrepid (fake!) explorers. Great photos. Visibility was poor by our standards but they assured us it was good for them! Geographically-speaking a must see, and a superb experience.

Visited June 2012
8 Thank SeadogCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing