We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Alberta highway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“My favourite Alberta highway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The scenery cannot be beat in my opinion. Wildlife abounds, I've spotted moose, bear, elk and deer. The winter drive is the most breathtaking but keep in mind this road is often closed due to weather conditions.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    63
    14
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

WOW... words can not describe what a beautiful drive that this is. I only wish that I had taken more time to take this wonderful drive. It is simply amazing!!! I took many stops along the way to take photos. This is one of the best drives in Canada... it is a must!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have driven the parkway many times in all sorts of weather but not for many years. As always, the views took my breath away. I had a visitor from another country with me, first time in our parks, and he was awe-struck by the beauty of the drive. The highway was at time snow-packed, at times bare, but there was hardly any traffic and no problems. There are long stretches of road without signage, and after a change of plan, we actually got onto the wrong road and were heading to BC before we knew it! So double check your bearings and maps! But don't miss out on the drive, even if you only go halfway and exit at Saskatchewan River Crossing...the mountains seem more spectacular than you will see right in Banff or Jasper.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Memorable in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Highly informative, educational and unique (for us as South Africans). We did not have too much time to explore the The Icefields Information Centre as we arrived just in time to get one of the last snowcoach tours for the day, up and onto the glacier. Although expensive we saved a small amount by buying a combo-ticket to do the Sulphur Mntn Gondola ride in Banff, and the Icefields tour. Highlight was the unique 'vehicle' custom built for these rides, and the incredibly personal, personable and informative tour guide in our snowcoach. Other highlight was walking around, in icy weather, feeling like intrepid (fake!) explorers. Great photos. Visibility was poor by our standards but they assured us it was good for them! Geographically-speaking a must see, and a superb experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The highlights of our Canadian Rocky Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We drove from the Lake Louise campsite in the early morning and enjoyed the view and drive along the way to Jasper NP. Don't miss the hike at the Parker Ridge trail just before the Icefield center. A herd of big-horn sheep was spotted at the end of the trail. Another place to meet the wild animals is along the driveway to the Maligne Lake in Jasper NP. Other highlights include Peyto Lake, Bow lake, Saskatchewan glacier, Mt. Edith Cavell and Athabasca Falls. It's been a long day since we have to head back to Lake Louise. The sunset at the Icefileds Parkway is awesome!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icefields Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.