We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
0422112852
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$28*
and up
Glacier Skywalk Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Memorable in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Highly informative, educational and unique (for us as South Africans). We did not have too much time to explore the The Icefields Information Centre as we arrived just in time to get one of the last snowcoach tours for the day, up and onto the glacier. Although expensive we saved a small amount by buying a combo-ticket to do the Sulphur Mntn Gondola ride in Banff, and the Icefields tour. Highlight was the unique 'vehicle' custom built for these rides, and the incredibly personal, personable and informative tour guide in our snowcoach. Other highlight was walking around, in icy weather, feeling like intrepid (fake!) explorers. Great photos. Visibility was poor by our standards but they assured us it was good for them! Geographically-speaking a must see, and a superb experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank SeadogCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The highlights of our Canadian Rocky Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We drove from the Lake Louise campsite in the early morning and enjoyed the view and drive along the way to Jasper NP. Don't miss the hike at the Parker Ridge trail just before the Icefield center. A herd of big-horn sheep was spotted at the end of the trail. Another place to meet the wild animals is along the driveway to the Maligne Lake in Jasper NP. Other highlights include Peyto Lake, Bow lake, Saskatchewan glacier, Mt. Edith Cavell and Athabasca Falls. It's been a long day since we have to head back to Lake Louise. The sunset at the Icefileds Parkway is awesome!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Pipilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“awesome !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

we hired a motorhome as part of a month long holiday and travelled from Banff to lake louise and jasper. the whole trip was excellent. we didnt see as much wildlife as we expected but it was still amazing. we hadnt booked any camp sites as we didnt want to be rushed, but found you could stay in the overflow car parks and lay bye's if you could manage without hook ups for a night or two. we actually stayed at the Icefield visitor center overnight in the car park and woke up to the sight of the glacier. Awesome ! we took the trip up the glacier on the 6 wheeled buses which was amazing (take an empty water bottle and fill it up with pure Glacial water running through the ice) Mosquitoes were a problem for me, got bitten to death, so long trousers, tops and mozzie repellant were essential wear. plan to do it again though next year.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank sallyslapcabbage54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Pierre
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Agree don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Wonderful, literally every mile a world class view. Summer driving was a pleasure and well worth it. Plenty of places for scenic stops but make sure you have provisions with you, especially if like us you were taking young children, as quite rightly so there are no shops or garages on the way!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank VARH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Super drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We drove from Banff up to the Icefield Center and back and really enjoyed the drive. The road is popular and when we visited in summer was fairly busy with tour buses but it was still really pleasant and the number of stops along the way offer some great views. Some of our favourite stops which we would recommend are:

• Crowfoot Glacier – Viewpoint on the roadside to the stunning glacier.
• Bow Lake – Attractive lake near to the road, here you can drive down to the Lodge and take a short walk along the waters edge.
• Peyto Lake - Stunning Lake, a short walk to the viewpoint is well worth it
• Mistaya Canyon – a 15 minute walk down to the Bridge from which you get great views of the Canyon.
• 93km – Sunset Pass and Sunset Lookout - Trailheads
• Weeping Wall – this is on the roadside and is very pretty at the right time of the year.
• Bridal Veil Falls – Viewpoint on the roadside to the waterfalls on the other side of the valley.

The views along the whole drive are stunning and if you don’t want to take any walks then the drive alone with the roadside viewpoints is really worth it. Take your time and enjoy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Sara_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing