We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icefields Parkway

Icefields Parkway
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic highway cutting through breathtakingly beautiful mountain passes.
scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Make sure you are up early and moake the most of the whole day driving this road. The views everwhere you look are incredible and take time to stop and walk up to the likes of the viewpoint at Lake Peyto etc.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    47
    12
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoy the scenery from your car”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We enjoyed our drive from Banff to Jasper, but the Columbia Icefield (which I remember was spectacular and great fun 50 years ago) is now just a slushy shadow of its former self, and way overpriced (about $50 a person to go from the parking lot in a bus, then a snow cat, then to stand around in the cold slush for 20 minutes, then back to your car).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Easy drive thru spectacular scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We drove from Jasper to Banff in a car rented for the sole purpose of driving along the Icefields Parkway. We were fortunate with the weather, I would imagine you can't see much on a rainy foggy day when clouds are low and obscure the mountains. But on a sunny autumn day it was as glorious as it could be. With leaves well into changing colour, it was quite a spectacle. On 25th September there was hardly any traffic on the road and with speed limits in place, it makes a very leisurely drive with lots of designated stops to take pictures and admire the scenery. Came across wonderfully rustic toilets on route, but we must preserve the nature! The map of Icefields Parkway we picked up at Jasper Info Centre was very usefull pointing out the sights we were passing. We veered off see Lake Louise, which with all the hype turned out to be much, much smaller and less grander, but pretty nevertheless. Also visited Lake Morraine with the same verdict. Huge crowds at both locations. All in all, we were pleased with our drive.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Photographers Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We drove from Banff to the Columbia Icefields. The drive was supposed to take an hour, but I went with two die-hard hobby photographers so it ended up taking over 3 hours to get there. But it was worth it. Lots of gorgeous lakes and glaciers to see on the way. Too many look-offs to count. It was just amazing scenery everywhere. So leave yourself plenty of time and don't rush. Take some snacks, because there are not towns or service areas along the way, but there are a lot of roadside washrooms along the way. We took just as long coming back, as well, because with the shift in the sunlight, a lot of the views looked better or had different lighting than they had had on the way out. Lots of great pictures!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Driving Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

AAA Magazine rates this drive as one of the "top ten" scenic drives in the world. The Canadian Rockies are like to American Rockies on steroids. Every turn and twist in the road reveals an new of landscape of stunning beauty - I just couldn't get my fill!! It took 8 hrs to drive the 140 miles between Lake Louise and Jasper due to the numerous "stop and take a picture" opportunities. Be sure and top off with gas and snacks prior to getting on the parkway.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icefields Parkway also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Icefields Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icefields Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Icefields Parkway to your Saves list