We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer chair lift ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Norquay

Mt. Norquay
Mount Norquay Access Road, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403-762-4421
Improve this listing
Visit Mt. Norquay like an insider
$86*
and up
Activities: Skiing, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family-friendly Mt. Norquay offers outstanding conditions for beginner, intermediate and advanced skiers and riders. Since its opening in 1926, Mt. Norquay continues to be the locals’ gem. Famous for being the training ground of Olympic and World Cup athletes, and with excellent beginner terrain, everyone will love this small, family-friendly resort.
Newmarket
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Summer chair lift ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had the pleasure of taking the chairlift to the top of mt norquay today. The view was spectacular and you could see all the mountains and the town of banff. We did the gondola ride last year and found we could see many more mountains from the top of mt norquay and the view of banff was much more widespread. When we got to the top, we were pleasantly surprised to see the cliff side bistro open. Their meat and cheese platters were perfect for sharing with the 5 of us as we sat at the window admiring the view.The best part was the free shuttle that picked us up right in front of our hotel. Well worth the money for the breathtaking view. we heard that this was the first year they were doing the chair lift ride and wish them lots of luck.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    43
    13
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Herd of big horn sheep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Gravel scenic mountain road with scenic overlooks . This is only a short drive out of Banff and at dusk is home to a meadow of a flock of Big Horn sheep about 50 yards off the road. The flock has lambs In the spring, ewes and the magnificent Big Horn males. We'll worth seeing !

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good any time of year. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Overlooking banff and hwy 1 the road leading to the mountain twists it's way through hairpin bends and gives drivers a fantastic view of the Rockies. Often sports car enthusiasts drive up and down as this is probably one of the bendy roads in canada! A tiny version of the French alps, top gear uk should bring Jeremy captain slow and the hamster to drive the route with some caravans!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tubing was a blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

What a great activity and well worth the $65 family rate for 2 hours. My wife, 2 daughters and I had a blast. The temps. Were in the high 40's F, sun shining and lines not too bad. You grab a tube, ride up the hill on a conveyor belt and slide down single, double and triple if the hill isn't too fast. We could only do doubles as the sun was creating icy conditions and the hill fast, we overshot the end a few times. This is a must do for anyone with kids.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon County
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You have to try the snow tubing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was a annual spring break trip we take with Granny to Canmore for some cross country skiing. We decided to try the tubing for a new adventure. It will now be part of our annual trip. We went for 2 hours and had so much fun we will be going full days from now on. The day we went was a super fast snow day. The lodge is warm and cozy and the staff very friendly and cheerful. Kids do have to be 42" tall but this is fantastic for all ages. Can't wait till next year!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Norquay also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Kananaskis Country, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Mt. Norquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Norquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.