We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowds & long lift lines - poor value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Norquay

Mt. Norquay
Mount Norquay Access Road, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403-762-4421
Improve this listing
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family-friendly Mt. Norquay offers outstanding conditions for beginner, intermediate and advanced skiers and riders. Since its opening in 1926, Mt. Norquay continues to be the locals’ gem. Famous for being the training ground of Olympic and World Cup athletes, and with excellent beginner terrain, everyone will love this small, family-friendly resort.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Crowds & long lift lines - poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We visited the Banff area in mid-late March and enjoyed several great days skiing at Sunshine Village & lake Louise, but thought since we were staying in Banff we should try one day at its nearest ski field. What a disappointment...
Despite being advertised as a crowd-free field, we inadvertently arrived on a "toonie" day when hundreds of college student also descend on the skifield from Calgary to ski for $2. There was no signage to indicate this when we arrived and as we had already purchased a 6 day pass (at significantly more than $2!) we had no need to go into the ticket window which might have tipped us off & given us the chance to go elsewhere.
Needless to say, the lines for the lifts were long, the ski runs were crowded and chaotic and we abandoned the field altogether after less than 2 hours.
For $2 it might be ok but I would never go back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    8
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Give Norquay a Pass Until Next Season (Maybe?)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visited on Apr 5 and found the Spirit chair closed for maintenance (eliminating about half the blue runs) and a black run on the eastern edge closed too. For this, the lift ticket was discounted 15% but really 30-50% would be a fairer reflection of the impact on skiable terrain. Lower runs were slushy. The trip back to the lodge from the 'dead' Spirit chair was interesting. A snowmobile with two ropes pulled guests. I was fine and kept well to the side but a boarder was caught in the backwash directly behind the machine (going at speed) as the trail narrowed and nearly collided with it. Highly risky and unsafe.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Considering there are 2 other large ski hills quite nearby for almost the same cost for a day pass this hill is not worth your while. Often icy conditions. Runs are quite short. Unless you get the toonie thursday special ($2 pass one thusrday each month).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's not what you think”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Finally, after several trips to the Banff area for skiing at Sunhsine Village and Lake Louise, we skied Mt. Norquay. It does not deserve its reputation for difficult terrain. Oh, that is there, but you can take it or leave it. We had a fantastic day there. Granted, there was fresh powder - just a couple of cm - which made it out-of-this-worldly, but it is a terrific hill. Friendly staff (but then the whole Banff area is cultishly friendly), clean and well appointed lodge and facilities, reasonably priced food, etc. This seems to be a family-oriented place. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will return our next "SkiBig3" vacation.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST Spring Skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I just got back from taking my kids to Norquay for Easter skiing. I haven't been there for 15 years and was amazed at how much fun we had. I put both kids in lessons (beginner and intermediate) and was really impressed with everyone at their ski school. The instructors were amazing. My daughters instructpr Gabi really took her time with her and even sat down with her on the magic carpet. I'm happy to say she fell in love with skiing this weekend.

The runs were perfect for my son who is an intermediate skier. The snow and grooming were pefect. It was the best spring skiing I've ever had.

Great value for your skiing experience, and really great family skiing venue.

Last but not least, my kids loved the Easter egg hunt and chocolates. Thank you!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Norquay also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Mt. Norquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Norquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.