We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Agnes

Lake Agnes
| Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tiny lake only a couple of kilometers away from Lake Louise; a great hiking destination.
Rapdi City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Tea House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Lake Agnes trail has amazing views and options for additional hikes. The Tea House was the reward. Tea, views and celebration of a hike well done! It's worth the effort and time.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    30
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Lake Agnes Trail to the Tea House is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It was a much more difficult trail than I thought, and I'm in great shape. It was well worth the elevation gain, however - the lake is gorgeous and the tea house was amazing. What a great little gem in the middle of such gorgeous terrain.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hike uphill with 2 kids worth it! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

In June my husband and I walked to Lake Agnes. We pushed our pram as far as we could (approx 2/3 way)then walked the rest of the way with our 2 young boys. It was all uphill and took us about 1 hour 10 mins. We all loved not only seeing the Lake (partly frozen), having scones and tea, but also the journey!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Go in the offseason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I've taken this hike a dozen times in my life having grown up near Lake Louise and it is a completely different experience in the offseason (much better) than in the summer. Took some friends today and, while it was beautiful as always, it was also uncomfortably busy. If you must go in the summer be sure to get an early start since the trail really fills up around 11 am or so. Much better to walk past 100s of people on the way down than it is sharing the trail with them in the same direction. The tea house is tiny and finding a table in the summer (even early) is pretty much impossible so don't get your heart set on a nice relaxing lunch at the end of the trail since chances are you'll be disappointed. Even if you are lucky enough to find a spot it is shoulder to shoulder. Best to walk up, take pictures, but eat when you get down.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice trail to Lake Agnes and the tea house, very crowded near Lake Louise, but thins out the higher you go. Slippery areas, sometimes too crowded with groups and the teahouse is worth hiking to. Unfortunately you may not get a spot in the teahouse, for a proper break, when we went early in the morning it was packed. Moderate level of difficulty, would recommend going off season.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Agnes also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Lake Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Agnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.