We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You Sunshine Ski Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Village

Sunshine Village
Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
+1 877-542-2633
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$83*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sunshine Village sits high on the Continental Divide in the heart of Banff National Park, and is just minutes from the mountain town of Banff. Three sprawling mountains provide breathtaking sitelines, uninterrupted by any signs of civilization beyond the resort's leasehold. Ski or ride in Alberta and British Columbia in one run. Sunshine Village's seven-month season stretches from early November until late May - the longest non-glacial season in Canada. The Village's altitude of 7,082 feet ensures the snow stays dry. Sunshine can receive up to nine metres (30 feet) of snow in a season, and it stays all year.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thank You Sunshine Ski Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

To the Sunshine Ski Resort Staff:

On behalf of the Rocky Mountain Racers Ski Team, I would like to extend an enormous and heartfelt thank-you the Sunshine staff for allowing our ski team to use your facilities this spring and for grooming us a beautiful track to use for cross-country ski training.

Rocky Mountain Racers is a team made up of biathletes and cross-country skiers from across the country. Throughout the spring, a huge part of our team’s training in May and June was designed around the skiing opportunities we were lucky enough to have been given at your facilities.

While training at Sunshine, we had access to both early morning crust skiing in the Sunshine Meadows as well as a 5km track groomed for both classic and skate skiing. The benefits of spring skiing, especially on a groomed track, are immense for cross-country skiers and biathletes, because the early access to snow allows us to correct any errors in our skiing technique. That way, come racing season, there are fewer technical errors to fix in our skiing, and we are faster and more efficient in races.

Another huge benefit of being able to cross-country ski at the Sunshine Ski Resort is that it allows us to train at a high altitude. High elevation training helps substantially in improving an athletes’ endurance, which is one of the reasons why Rocky Mountain Racers athletes train anywhere from 15-25 hours on snow at Sunshine.

Once again, on behalf of the Rocky Mountain Racers Ski Team, I would like to thank everyone at the Sunshine Ski Resort for allowing us to access snow this spring, and for grooming us a beautiful track to train on. Without your generosity, we wouldn’t be able to complete such high-quality training so early in the training season.

Thank-you,

Maya MacIsaac-Jones, Rocky Mountain Racers Athlete

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya O, Manager at Sunshine Village, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks so much for this lovely review—we are thrilled to be able to provide a place for talented Canadian athletes to train throughout the year.

We value this feedback greatly and look forward to welcoming the Rocky Mountain Racers back to Sunshine Village in the 2014-15 ski season!

Best regards,

Lindsay Gallagher, Sunshine Village Communications team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    71
    22
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Winter to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I've been skiing here for almost 50 years and without a doubt the spring of 2014 was the best conditions and weather that I have experienced in 35 years.February snow with mild but never sweat inducing weather in the first week of April. Unbelievable. No doubt that I'll be back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya O, Manager at Sunshine Village, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Wow—what a wonderful review of our resort. Thank you for the kind words!

We are known for exceptional powder during the spring and are so glad you were able to come out to experience the great conditions.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your 51st season in November 2014.

Best regards,

Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Sunshine Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for starters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We are very early career skiers and took our 5 year old with us for her first turn. We had a 2 hour lesson for her and then skied our lives away for a few days. The green runs are sensational and the powder even in November was fine. We could do wah wah time and time again and it was just sensational. We also did norquay and it was nothing compared to sunshine. Do the marmot card if you are going to do a few days

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya O, Manager at Sunshine Village, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about our resort.

I am so happy to hear that the weather was great during your visit in November and I am so glad that you enjoyed the runs off the Wawa chairlift—it’s one of my favourite lifts at Sunshine.

Congrats on your five year old learning to ski-- we look forward to watching her grow at Sunshine Village!

We’ll see you next ski season.

Warm regards,

Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Sunshine Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NOT to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have been to loads of places around this small globe and Sunshine is right up there with the best !
We stayed in Banff for 2 weeks in March 2014 and went to Sunshine, Lake Louise, and Norquay.
Forget Norquay unless you only have a couple of hours.
Lake Louise is awesome irrespective of your level, skier or boarder but can get crowded.
Sunshine - please do NOT go there when we go back because we don't want everyone else to over crowd it. The best snow, best runs, friendly (they all are), good food and drink options . . . It is busy on Saturdays but during the week their is no such thing as a lift line :)
Remember - do NOT go there in March 2015 because we want it just the way it was this year :)
Cheers AB

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya O, Manager at Sunshine Village, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for the kind words about our resort!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at Sunshine Village in March and are planning a trip back next year.

It’s great to hear that you were also able to experience our great variety of runs, friendly staff and fantastic snow.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next season.

Best regards,

Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Sunshine Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I Love Sunshine - It Has it All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I Love Sunshine - It Has it All
Loved our repeat visit to Sunshine after a two year hiatus. Spend three days at the resort skiing with our entire extended family which includes a Level Three ski instructor and a Level Four snowboard instructor. We experienced excellent weather and snow conditions, hardly any line-ups on the mountain, and a wide variety of groomed and natural snow trails. I can’t say enough positive things about this resort. Read some reviews trashing the place and couldn’t disagree more. We have skied and boarded on three continents and nothing in Europe, Australia and New Zealand comes even close to skiing in the Rockies. The orderly lift lines are a real treat after experiencing the line cutting and downright rudeness of the people in the French, Swiss, and Austrian lift lines. The only thing missing was some powder snow conditions but we went down south to Fernie B. C. to get our powder fix. The snowboard park could use a little more variety but it is well maintained and the ski trails offered a nice variety of ability levels and were clearly signed. There is so much variety and so many lifts that it can be confusing for a first timer but trail maps are readily available. Parking is a bit of a hassle but can be alleviated by having one person drop everyone off at the base, then park the car while another is getting the lift tickets. The only two negatives I have to report are about the rental shop and the ridiculously high cost ($30.00 for one trip up) imposed on a non-skier who wants to join the family on the slope for a lunch break. It took over an hour of standing in line for one family member to rent equipment. This held up our entire family because we wanted to ski as a group. It was obvious that they were short staffed but the situation was not cleared up after the second day so we rented in Banff to avoid the hassle. We will do this again in the future. I tried to demo some equipment while there and gave up in frustration as there was no one available to fill out the forms. Staff at the resort are friendly and helpful with the exception of the rental staff. The food and drink on the mountain is a bit pricey; however, it is like this everywhere when you have a captive audience. The positive is that unlike resorts in Europe we found that you could bring your own food in and enjoy the use of the lodges without a “no Pic-Nik” hassle from Lodge staff. All in all, if you want to experience some of the best skiing Canada has to offer Sunshine is very hard to beat! Whistler-Blackcomb come in second in my opinion because the weather and ski conditions are more reliable at Sunshine.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya O, Manager at Sunshine Village, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about our resort!

We pride ourselves on offering something for the whole family with our large variety of ski trails and terrain available to all ability levels.

Although I am sorry to hear that you were less-than-impressed with your rental shop experience, this will give us an opportunity to improve our customer service moving forward.

On behalf of everyone at Sunshine Village, I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Sunshine Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Village also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Kananaskis Country, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Sunshine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.