We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic powder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Village

Sunshine Village
Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
+1 877-542-2633
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoor Activities, Nature & Parks
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sunshine Village sits high on the Continental Divide in the heart of Banff National Park, and is just minutes from the mountain town of Banff. Three sprawling mountains provide breathtaking sitelines, uninterrupted by any signs of civilization beyond the resort's leasehold. Ski or ride in Alberta and British Columbia in one run. Sunshine Village's seven-month season stretches from early November until late May - the longest non-glacial season in Canada. The Village's altitude of 7,082 feet ensures the snow stays dry. Sunshine can receive up to nine metres (30 feet) of snow in a season, and it stays all year.
Killarney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Epic powder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a great day on Sunshine! ventured all over the mountains. Even though it was high winds it had dumped the night before and all through the day. A lot of terrain to explore and I found so much untouched powder.

Only downside is that the runs felt really short........or maybe I was just having to good of a time!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    55
    17
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“snowboarding!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

what a great mountain to snowboard on! just amazingly beautiful and so much fun for everyone. you take a gondola ride for 20 up to the top, breathtaking for sure! bring your cameras!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Heavenly conditions for a Rocky Mountain high”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Spring skiing is on! 204 cm base and snowing all day baby
Gets some & then head down to the hot springs to soak dem bones

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sunshine Village without Skis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I'm not skiing this year because of injury. I discovered the Winter Sightseeing ticket. I bought it from the Ski Hub on Banff Ave. It costs $42 and covered me for the ski bus from Banff to Sunshine, a gondola ride and $12 toward my lunch. Worth every penny! ( that's cents in Canadian) It meant that I could visit the hill I love to ski, sit and stare at all that lovely snow and meet the family for lunch.Bargain! This pass is ideal for anyone who doesn't ski but wants a holiday in the snow.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya O, Manager at Sunshine Village, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Val,

Thank-you for coming out to Sunshine Village. The gondola ride up the mountain offers such beautiful views, and while we’re sorry to hear that you are injured, we are so glad you were able to visit us. We hope to see you at Sunshine again soon.

Kindest regards,

Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Sunshine Village Ski and Snowboard Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“"Snow Galore, Great Place to Hit the Slopes"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went hear the first and second day of our ski trip, 16 inches of fresh powder the first day, 9 inches the second . . . need I say more! "Ski the Goat" for no crowds.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya O, Manager at Sunshine Village, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
SpyderP45,

Thank-you for the great review! Goat’s Eye Mountain is one of my favourite places to ski early in the morning, with its long runs and expansive views.

With over two months left in the season, we hope you can come visit us again soon.

All the best,

Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Sunshine Village Ski and Snowboard Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Village also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Kananaskis Country, Canadian Rockies
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sunshine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.