We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomparable vista” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Louise

Lake Louise
111 Lake Louise Drive | Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Update attraction details
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Hiking, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Beautiful lake surrounded by woods and hiking trails.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Gibbons, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Uncomparable vista”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 NEW

Lake Louise has been attracting visitors for decades, the views from the hotel are stunning and you cannot take a bad picture

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    132
    28
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bauru, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Insane!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Best place that I have ever visited. I visited in summer and the view was absolutely amazing. Everybody must go to Lake Louise at least once in life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must if you love nature! (4.5 stars)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

There's a reason this place is filled with tourists:

IT'S BEAUTIFUL!

It was my first time in the Rockies when I visited, so I was in awe. My camera had lots of fun, too.

I also went on the trail to Lake Agnes, which just off to the side of the lake.

I recommend Morraine Lake, and actually preferred it to Lake Louise because it's less touristy. Plus, it's only a few minutes away via car. It's also just as (if not more) breathtaking!

Still, nature lovers won't regret investing a visit at Lake Louise. Worth revisiting as well :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Frozen, but magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

It was a nice experience, during mid march in T-Shirt, walking on the lake frozen, with 1,5 feet of powder. They made an Ice ring to skate, and in the middle an ice castle. Worth the visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“You Must See This Iconic View For Yourself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Lake Louise is one of the most photographed places in the world and for good reason. The Hotel is historic, recently renovated, and famously "flowerscaped" with Iceland Poppies. The various hiking trails are beautiful beyond words and good for hikers of all abilities. Some trails skirt the lake, meandering through the forest while others climb up, either up to the glacier or above the lake for unequalled vistas. Depending on the season, the view and activities vary. Snow and nearby skiing in winter, hiking and photography in Spring, Summer and Fall. Oh, and sitting on the Hotel's wide veranda taking in the view is very soul soothing. Naturally, in Winter you move inside to the comfort of the lobby which also has the grand vistas through huge glass windows framing the lake and glacier.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Louise also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.