We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture postcard view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Louise

Lake Louise
111 Lake Louise Drive | Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Hiking, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Beautiful lake surrounded by woods and hiking trails.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
153 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Picture postcard view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have visited Lake Louise on several occasions and it's beauty always impresses me. On this occasion five of us went for a visit in July. It was extremely busy but still a magnificent view. Worth a visit at any time of the year.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    150
    31
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I went to Calgary as a vacation to visit my 2 best friends, and we spent 8 hrs hiking every trail at Lake Louise on Canada Day, starting at the Fairmont Lake Louise Hotel. We went towards the Plain of Six Glaciers & tea house (and even went beyond the maintenace trail, which I TOTALLY suggest going if you're brave enough to go up very steep grounds), then to Lake Agnes & tea house, to Little Beehive (Big Beehive was blocked due to fallen trees and snow), to Mirror Lake. The views of the mountains and of the glaciers and of the waters was absolutely breathtaking! We were able to see some avalanches fall too! If you're ever in the Alberta area, it is definitely worth the drive to check out Lake Louise! I enjoyed Lake Louise a lot more than I did Banff!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papunya
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazingly beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The most beautiful lake in canada and the color is amazing. The water is cold and freezes over 3 feet thick in winter. It can be driven on in winter time
You can hire a canoe Canadian of course and paddle around the lake and it is a lot of fun.
Do your self a favor put it on your bucket, list to see and go and look at it as you will be blown away by its beauty

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Even though the lake has thawed there was lots of activity on it from canoeing and boating. The one thing that might spoil it is that it is too commercialised. There are tour groups everywhere and it is difficult to get a look in. It is an absolutely perfect setting with the magnificent chateau overlooking the lake and the setting of the glacier in the middle with the two mountains either side.This is just picture perfect.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Really great views on a beautiful looking lake. There were a lot of insects flying around when I went which is something you should be aware of.
Didn't get a chance to go out in a boat as I was short on time. But I've been told its worth doing. Check out the Fairmont hotel whilst there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Louise also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Louise to your Saves list