We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Ravens Restaurant & Wine Bar

Three Ravens Restaurant & Wine Bar
107 Tunnel Mountain Drive | Top Floor of the Sally Borden Building, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada
+1 403-762-6300
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Three Ravens Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $36 - $55
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. Julien Road
Description: The Three Ravens Restaurant & Wine Bar. Our a la carte restaurant is an inspiring dimension in dining. Fresh. Seasonal. Creative. These are the signatures you'll find in every dish. The restaurant has one of the finest views of any dining facility in the Bow Valley. Within a few steps of all performance, meeting spaces, and accommodation at The Banff Centre, the Three Ravens offers a convenient and creative venue for your evening dining experience. Savour selections from the quality wine cellar and menu, in the Wine Bar. The Rocky Mountain peaks that surround us form the backdrop for quiet enjoyment, casual meetings, or relaxing conversations.
Calgary, ALberta,CDN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best place in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We go here when we are going to an event at the Banff Center - it is a little hard to find but worth it. The view of the valley is spectacular. The food is awesome. Very modern and chic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    34
    11
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Our Private Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The restaurant is at the Banff Centre so out of town. When it is dark, it is very hard to find since the signage to the restaurant is very small. Parking is down the hill from the elevator that takes you up to the restaurant.

When we arrived at 8:00 PM, there were 2 other tables of 2 each, By 9:00, we were the only ones left.

This is a huge room with very high ceilings, modern industrial decor and very bright. Being dark, there was no view. They said that the night before they had no customers at all. Consequently, it was not a great atmosphere but we decided to stay anyway since we had come so far.

The food though was really good and service very attentive. I had the rack of lamb which was the most tender I ever have had. My wife had the duck breast which was delicious as well.

The only slightly disappointing item was the date cake, which while warm, was dry likely from over microwaving it.

Food is pricey but wines are reasonably priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hidden away from downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Ride the elevator up and cross a open air walkway to the restaurant which has glass walls on three sides. It would have been spectacular view but it was already dark. The Banff Springs Hotel looked magnificent all lit up on the drive to the Center. Highly recommend for a special occasion, if making a later reservation request the north side.

We were here for the Bon Appetit Banff event. The Curried Corn Veloute was excellent. Lamb shank was nicely presented on a bed of winter veggies. Loved the polenta. Staff were attentive and friendly. Meal was well timed as fine dining should be. Excellent meal for fixed price. Hope they participate in Bon Appetit again.

Adjacent market style Vistas Restaurant appeared to have a good selection. We would return in the summer to try it and catch the view.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very pricy. Very good service. Great entree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I went there with a group of eleven. One of the priciest meals I have eaten in North America. Was it worth it? Not sure. The room itself isn't much. You are sort of glassed in and kept separate from the regular buffet meal that's served in the adjacent cafeteria, and if you get there when it is light out, you have this most wonderful view of the mountains. So that's good. The waitstaff is just the right amount of attentive; not hovering, but you never had to work to get their attention, either. And they know their wines and made good suggestions to the folks at our table who wanted wine. That's good, too. I had the small salad and the lamb. The salad was okay; honestly pretty overpriced for what was essentially a mixed greens salad. The lamb was really tasty and cooked to perfection. The accompanying polenta and roasted vegetables (only a few, more for presentation than fulfilling hunger) was okay. Nothing to write home about. All in all, the meal, with a bottle of wine split between three people, worked out to $85 dollars including tax and tip. A nice meal. If I did it again, though, it would be a romantic dinner for two with my husband, not a business meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine dining -terrific value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Get tickets to a show at the Banff Centre and receive 20% off your bill, including alcohol. We had a gourmet meal with cocktails and glasses of wine for $100 after the discount and taxes. Floor to ceiling windows and a great vantage point provide super views. Eclectic wine list (including by the glass). Attentive service. Paradise.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Ravens Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Three Ravens Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Ravens Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.