We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak night is fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bruce Hotel

Bruce Hotel
104 Main Street | Bruce, Alberta, Canada
+1 780-688-3922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #342 of 8,404 Restaurants in Alberta
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Steak night is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Live just ten minutes away from this local icon but do not seem to get here enough. All you can eat salads, side dishes and desserts to go with some great beef. Great service, lots of food, wonderful atmosphere. Nothing negative. Most remarkable is huge meal for around $20. Celebrated our anniversary last night and they made a big fuss of us. Only thing to note is at certain times you need reservations well in advance.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Bruce Hotel - Rustic Alberta Dining Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I travelled to the Bruce Hotel from Edmonton to celebrate Father's Day during one of their steak and shrimp nights. We had booked reservations for 4:30 but arrived about 20 minutes early. No problem. The inviting staff gladly found us a table and gave us a friendly orientation before taking our order. There were only one or two other tables occupied at this time but that quickly changed as the dining area was completely full within half an hour as other guests arrived. However, during this quite time, we helped ourselves to a fantastic salad bar and a bottle of red wine. As well, it gave us a chance to admire the many small antique items on display up on the walls. It's a quaint rustic Alberta atmosphere here which gives you a great impression of what it's like to live on the prairies. The drive from Edmonton is certainly part of this adventure since you can't help but enjoy the magnificent landscape leading up to this hotel. For me, the steak wasn't the rave as much as the rest of the food. I thought the shrimp was fantastic, though. The real star here is the overall experience. The heartbeat of the Bruce is Alberta charm itself. This is a great place with a warm atmosphere to eat and relax and celebrate with family and friends!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“3 hours later....and I'm still full....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just an hour east of Edmonton on highway 14 is a hole in the wall place called Bruce Alberta. This non descript place has a small hotel/bar that has one of the best steaks that I have ever had. The food is home made, fantastic and cooked perfect. I had the 8oz steak and my wife had the 6oz. All the sides were all you can eat and everything was fantastic. Did I mention my steak was cooked to perfection? We ate and ate and ate and our bill for 4 people, with pop and tip was $100.00 ($20 tip). Dessert is also included in the meal. There are endless options available to eat as sides and its buffet style. Awesome. Leave the city and go to this place. The staff were extremely friendly. I will be back. http://www.brucehotel.ca/Welcome.html. Check out their website!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton AB
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We attend their Steak Nights a few times a year and have been doing so for about 7 years now. The meals are fantastic, the staff is amazing and Deb and Carl are the best hosts you can find. Family and friends have joined us and had a great evening. Book a reservation and give them a try...you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Steak Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A group of us from Edmonton get together once a month or so for dinner. We take turns choosing a location and this time we had a reservation for Friday night steak dinner at the Bruce Hotel. Nineteen of us in five cars made the 115 km trek from Edmonton to Bruce for a late dinner. To allow us sufficient time to get to Bruce we had booked the 7:45 seating. The restaurant seats about 100 people and was pretty full when we arrived and would remain full throughout the late seating.

Our steaks were great and done to perfection. The salad bar had lots of options and there were several kinds of side dishes to go with the steak. The dessert bar had a variety of creamy and baked desserts and even cookies and squares. The price? Just $16.99 for the smallest steak offering; six ounces. That included all you can eat from the salad and dessert bar, coffee and taxes. Alcoholic beverages and tip were extra.

The place is full of old knickknacks and some quirky decorations, some of which can't be described in polite company. The table supports are made from old sewing machine bases or custom made with iron lettering spelling out "Bruce Hotel". Lots of old record covers and photos adorn the walls.

The Bruce Hotel is a great place to go with a group and have a good meal. Next time we'll have to go for steak and shrimp. We didn't stay for karaoke as it was a long drive back to Edmonton.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruce Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.