We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinosaur Provincial Park will boggle your mind!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dinosaur Provincial Park

Dinosaur Provincial Park
Township Road 210A | Patricia, Alberta T0J 2K0, Canada
403-378-4342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 1,039 things to do in Alberta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dinosaur Provincial Park will boggle your mind!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed a few days here in early July. The campsite is spotless, the staff are very friendly, the guides knowledgeable, the scenery is stunning. There are so many awesome places to hike, walk, or ride your bike within minutes of the campsite! We saw a great variety of bird species, a bull snake, loads of unusual flowering plants including cacti and of course the best part are the fossils. It's hard to step without stepping on a dinosaur's bones! We even found bits of long gone turtle shell, crocodile skin and more! We were in awe of all this prehistory at our feet. 75,000,000 million years ago this area was the coastal lowlands of an inland sea. Many of the fossilized remains are believed to have resulted from rising waters flooding these areas, causing mass drownings.
Take your bike on the loop around the park, check out the self guided tours and fossil discovery sites. Lastly, make sure you visit the Interpretive Centre for some very nice fossil displays. I recommend taking at least one of the guided tours, which will take you into parts of the park that are only accessible with a guide. The interpretive centre offers both bus and walking tours. Take morning tour as it gets pretty hot here in the afternoons! Other fun things to add to your trip - canoeing or tubing down the Red Deer River, which skirts the campsite.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Forestchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A trip into history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Dinosaur Provincial Park is where dinosaurs lived and died. The park itself has campgrounds, where you can stay for a small fee. There is a canteen on site.
The park itself can be explored by foot, or if you are rushed for time, by an automobile trial.
Also on site is an education and information centre.
Dinosaur Provincial Park takes a second seat to Drumheller. The fact of the matter is that this is where it all began.
The fees charged here are either for camping, or going through the information centre.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Freddie754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Out of this World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Dinosaur Provincial Park is a must see if you are going to Drumheller. It is about 2 hours away from the community, but worth the drive! While getting there, it is flat, flat, flat, and then all of a sudden you reach the majestic badlands! So picturesque! It is worth the time and money (although so reasonable!!!) to book a tour with an interpreter! They drive you to a location that you would not otherwise be allowed to enter, provide a great amount of information and then you can go fossil hunting! At first we were so excited to find one, and then we realized they were all around us, and it was an incredible, small feeling to know what existed before us. We did the Fossil Safari which was great for families, but they have other programs. Book before you go as they do sell out! Wear sunscreen, hats and bring plenty of water. There is a wonderful interpretation center and concession there as well, so if you run out there is a great amount of choice to eat and drink! If we could have...we would have stayed an extra day and done additional programs!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A little gem in Alberta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is not a big park by any means. If you don't do any hikes, you can drive through the loop rather quick. There are five short self-guided hikes and we went on all of them in a day. To properly explore this area, you probably need two to three days. This park is different from most of the other provincial parks, it has a rather large selection of guided interpretive tours, ranging from a few hours to a few days. With the guided tours, you probably will see a lot more than just driving or hiking on those self guided hikes. We plan to return and try the evening photography tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank super_fast_eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing site to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I would recommend this campsite to anyone interested in dinosaurs. Their interpretive programs were excellent and the campground was very clean. We camped in a tent at a power site, which backed onto the badlands and a creek. Be sure to pick a site with some shade!

The only drawback we experienced was that the 'quiet time' was not enforced and it made it difficult to get two small kids to sleep.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Provincial Park also viewed

 

Been to Dinosaur Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing