We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa
Ombra 10 - 12 | Frazione Castel San Pietro, 15020 Camino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Camino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pennsylvanie
1 review
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ca San Sebastiano. Total countryside, great food, great hospitality. The 2-hour spa experience is a must! The owners were very friendly and worked with us to create the experience we wanted. We highly recommend this place to relax, rewind, and recharge the batteries.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    103
    27
    13
    9
See reviews for
20
210
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We had planned this long week end a while ago and looking forward to relaxing in charming surrounding whilst pampered at this well rated resort. Reality was a world apart. Upon arrival a rather unfriendly receptionist (Irene I think) told us we had been allocated a superior accomodation (the website is actually rather misleading) close to the resort (but not in it) a a place that they themselves ought to call ironically "The Villa"! We got there and the "Villa" was nothing but some modern built rather unloved 70's cube, fully of flies, spiders' webs and all sorts of creepy crawlers! It did even turned not to be owned by the resort itself, the story goes it actually was some summer house used by old folks visiting the village once in a quarter of a century! Having made up our mind and decided to leave, we rather politely made our point to (the rather rude, avoid her at all cost) Irene who invented us an excuse to flog us another accomodation overlooking a couple of garages full of dump! At this point we had no choice but accept what given as it was now late and the place totally isolated. To cut this story short during our stay the place was never cleaned, towels never replaced, food below average, wine terrible, breakfast incredibly poor (where else u dont get a cappucino in Italy??), staff unfriendly and the wine therapy its just a joke - if u dont beleive me i dare you to go and try it yourself! I do have to wonder who did write all those other fantastic reviews?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danymau, proprietario at Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2009
We are truly astonished to read such a comment …. You had been advised from your first telephone call that we were already fully booked for the week-end and you accepted the solution of the villa… You may disagree on that but it IS a villa : on 2 floors, with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large living room, separate kitchen, veranda and garden with swimming pool. Well, you didn’t like it, we understand that, but Irene DID NOT find any excuse, she just did her best to find another accommodation for you considering that we were fully booked.
You inspected the apartment with her, and you said it was ok. This was Friday evening. On Saturday morning, after having tried our (poor) cooking and our (poor) wine, why didn’t you leave ? Why did you stay 3 nights ?? We didn’t oblige you !! We asked you many times during your stay if everything was ok and you said YES, everything is fine! You were not left alone near a garbage deposit, as you put it : our restaurant was open, you had a massage, then an aperitivo with chilled wine served in your apartment, then a candle light dinner in our Restaurant, then you stayed another whole day with an exclusive 2 hours Spa circuit. So why did you stay 3 nights – 4 days if it was so terrible ??? Why didn’t you complain with anybody of us ?
We are proud to say that most of our guests are more than satisfied with our place, so I hope that other Ca’ San Sebastiano guests write their comments to testify that we are not like you described us…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

On our 6-day trip through Italy, this was the best place we stayed. The location was difficult to find. One should have great directions/map or GPS. Luckily, we called the owner, Daniella, who led us to the bed and breakfast. The location was fabulous!! We were with another couple and Daniella took us a couple of miles away to the winery and showed us around. She then had a tasting for the 4 of us in a very stylish area near the reception and restaurant. (She charged us 5 euro a person for the tour/tasting which was a bargain. We happily paid it but were surpised as we were not told of the charge and just saw it on the bill upon checkout.) The wine was so good that we purchased 12 bottles.
We had dinner onsite which is advisable as there is nothing nearby. 4 courses for 30 euros - good and filling. They were very kind about changing a dish to vegetarian which was refreshing. Another surprising charge was the wine (their wine) was marked up at the restaurant. (Again, this was not noted on the menu or told to us until we saw it on the bill at checkout.)
The decor of the common areas and the apartment we stayed in was stylish. There were modern touches intertwined with original features. The apartment was very clean.
The breakfast left a lot to be desired. They served a limited amount to the table of Melba Toast, biscuits/cookies with jam, pound cake, yogurt, coffee, and juice. The jams were good and made by them and available for purchase.
We did not get to take advantage of it but there was an outside table with a view of the landscape and a pool and a "Wi-Fi" area just outside reception.
The B&B offers spa services including a wine bath. We were unable to take advantage of any of these services.
The only disappointment was that we were only able to stay 1 night. We joked about cancelling the rest of our trip to stay there. We will definitely go back.

  • Liked — Daniella's (the owner's) kindness and helpfulness - the wine tour and tasting was great.
  • Disliked — Trying to find it though it was definitely worth the search!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

We cannot speak highly enough of our three week stay at Ca'San Sebastiano in July 2006. We booked direct with the owner, Daniela Vellano, and from the start , found her helpful and courteous. We were travelling by train and she was waiting at Trino Station to collect us on our arrival. Our apartment (the 'Glicine' from memory) was situated across from the pool, next to the restaurant and very close by to the garden area. This was our first stop in 3 months in Italy and we still speak most fondly of our lovely stay. Daniela and her husband, Maurizio, were so helpful in suggesting parts of Piemonte to visit and their manager, Graciela, was kindness itself. We were beautifully looked after during our stay and nothing was too much trouble. The Monferrato area is truly beautiful and, I believe, not as touristy as the Langhe area further south. We were close to the lakes, the coast and the very lovely Val d'Aosta. Our apartment contained everything we needed and was lovingly furnished with charming 'little extras'. It is true that this place is out of the way - but that is part of its total charm. We shopped regularly at the twice-weekly markets in Trino where we bought meat, delicatessan products and wonderful fruit and vegetables. A car is almost a necessity - we rented one from the Vellanos during our stay. Do eat at the restaurant - the meals we enjoyed there were some of the best we had in Italy and the surroundings are very lovely. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Non-touristy 'country Italy' - beautiful scenery - we were so well looked after
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

We stayed at CaSanSebastiano in the Camino area of the Monferrato Hills in September. This beautiful Agriturismo is in two separate buildings that have apartments. We stayed in the building away from the main reception which had the beautiful garden and swimming pool in the back. This place was a TOTAL Italian experience which was superb. The buiding was stone with red tile roof. Our little apartment had stone and tile through-out. The kitchen was fully equipped (stove, oven refridgerator..all the accessories you need to cook) and it had a soapstone sink and counter. There was a couch and TV with DVD player. The two bedrooms were painted warm tones (sponge painted green one, blue the other). One bedroom had a queen bed the other two twins. Both bedrooms led to a balcony overlooking the garden and wine bar. The bathroom was huge and had everything. The place was a great place to come home to every evening after traveling wine country in Piedmont. The owner even had his own vineyards and made wine (Monferrato appellation). The Barbera was fantastic. I booked direct with the owner Daniela Vellano via the internet. She was most helpful...sending me photos of all the apartments. On arrival, Daniela's assistant, Graciela was there to assist with directions and booking of activities. She was so gracious and charming.
The Agriturismo has a wine spa and a fabulous restaurant which serves a 6 course meal on Saturday night for 60E per person. It was superb. I loved this place. The garden was inviting and relaxing. The pool area was well outfitted and a great place to relax on a day away from travel. Absolutely fabulous!!

  • Liked — It was so typical Italian...and just like being at home.
  • Disliked — Somewhat off the beaten track.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa

Address: Ombra 10 - 12 | Frazione Castel San Pietro, 15020 Camino, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Alessandria > Camino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Camino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' San Sebastiano is an old country house in the Piedmont countryside. Its wellness centre specializes in wine therapy and it has an outdoor pool with Jacuzzi.Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa gives you great sports options. You can rent bikes on site or go trekking. Tennis courts are located 400 metres away, in Ombra centre and there are golf courses nearby.You can still see frescoes in the oldest parts of Ca' San Sebastiano. Wine is made here and you can visit the cellar and try it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' San Sebastiano Wine Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.