We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What was it supposed to be....?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Downend Road, Arreton PO30 2NU, England
01983 523 446
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Arreton
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“What was it supposed to be....?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Seafood risotto - is that really what it was? The most minute prawns in the history of prawns, and nothing else - apart from rice, and an indeterminate amber-coloured sauce. Service was okay, but the smiles and cheeriness seemed very forced. Only the view redeemed the visit from utter mediocrity....

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    80
    45
    45
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The service was o.k but the food….My wife was unimpressed with her sausage and mash from the pub chain menu. I opted for the mussels from the specials board. After quite a long wait, (had to buy another pint whilst we waited), we were told that the delay was "due to the chef not being able to find the mussels"? When they arrived, I was to say the least unimpressed. They certainly weren't fresh and I believe they may even have been frozen. The saving grace was that the sauce they were in was quite tasty.
So all in all I would not go back, it would not be hard to find better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stop off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Pubs as they used to be. This place has good garden entertainment for the children. We had club sandwiches which were lovely and had a view in the garden of Bestival setting up. Go for lunch for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Nice food, live entertainment, polite service and a reasonable price. My only grumble was the place was a bit cold but I'll take a coat next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Food was Ok nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Family of 4. Went here for lunch after visiting Robin hill. Food was ok nothing special. Staff were friendly but table was sticky!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Arreton, Isle of Wight
Arreton, Isle of Wight
 
Whippingham, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare and Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.