We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great real ale pub with a comfy cottage next door.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Poets' Corner

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Poets' Corner
1 Butts Road, Ashover, Chesterfield S45 0EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ashover B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A great real ale pub with a comfy cottage next door.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We've stayed in the cottage twice. It's clean, warm and comfy, and the kitchen is very well appointed. The pub is legendary - fabulous beers, great food, and a very warm welcome. Ashover is a lovely village.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    37
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
55
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The welcome from staff and customers at this place is second to none, made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. The pub has its own brewery on site and I enjoyed the best pint I have had in a very long time. The bedrooms are quite small but have everything you could need but the church bells chiming every 15 minutes through the night do nothing for a good night's sleep and a function on the Saturday night right outside the bedroom door was not appreciated. we ate in the pub on our first night and had the fish and chips which was excellent, the menu was varied and from what I could see of other peoples meals all looked tasty and well presented. Breakfast was also excellent with a full selection to chose from. Would definately recommend the pub for a beer and a meal but would be reluctant to recommend as a B&B solely due to the noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

A real gem - set in a beautiful village and great countryside. Excellent beers and food incl brewed on site. They have rooms (a little tired) and fantastic breakfast incl duck eggs if you are lucky (but they prefer not too early which can be an issue with business). Friendly staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwinstowe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 for 1 night for a birthday treat & it was amazing. The pub is 'oldie worldie' with lots of atmosphere & the food, well it was the by far the best steak I have had for a long time & the home brewed beers & ciders were wonderful & the breakfast was just as good. The en-suite room was very quaint & well decorated with a comfy bed & tea & coffee making facilities & a bonus of some nice bottled spring water. Ashover is a lovely place & I know it quite well, but when we followed the walks supplied in your room I found alot of delights that I did'nt know about, the scenery was stunning. If you want a cosy break, don't hesitate to book this wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
337 helpful votes 337 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a recommendation and were glad we did!
It's a very quaint, olde worlde type English pub - not at all a bad thing! - with a nice fire in the corner and plenty of tables.
It was reasonably busy when we were there but I think you can book a table.
We were told the portions were on the big side - and they are! - so we opted to have mains only.
My wife had the "mini" fish & chips (still big enough) and I went for the hot chilli con carne.
Both were delicious and so were the homemade chips!
The portions were on the ample side, but that's no bad thing!
They have a huge array of ales - they're a CAMRA winner - and lots more besides.
Friendly and efficient service - for drinks and food - and reasonably priced!
Will certainly go back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

10 real ales, 8 real ciders, large menu of straight forward but good quality british food and a great atmosphere with an open fire during the autumn and winter - what more could you ask for?!! If you go there to eat you can book in advance for a seat in the restaurant, if you want to eat in the bar (I always do!) then be aware that you may have a bit of a wait to grab a table on a Friday or Saturday night. It also gets very busy when they have a live band. If only every pub could be as good as this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It's a great pub in a lovely village. The landlord and staff were very pleasant and we had excellent real ales. Stayed overnight B&B - Very good & Excellent breakfast (Choice of delicious home produced eggs, including Guinea Fowl). Lovely walks on the doorstep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Poets' Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Poets' Corner

Address: 1 Butts Road, Ashover, Chesterfield S45 0EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Ashover
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashover
Also Known As:
The Old Poets` Corner Hotel Ashover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Poets' Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Old Poets' Corner to your Saves list