We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cottage with a side order of PUB!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Poets' Corner

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Poets' Corner
Save
You added The Old Poets' Corner to your Saves list
1 Butts Road, Ashover, Chesterfield S45 0EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ashover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great cottage with a side order of PUB!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the cottage attached to the pub...perfect location. The cottage was very spacious and well equipped, plenty of space for us all (4 adults 1 baby and a dog) with beds to spare. Kitchen was large and easy to use, but why you would need to with a fab curry served at the pub and all the lovely ales to try I don't know why.
My only recommendation would be to either get new mattresses or memory foam toppers as the beds were very uncomfortable and that can spoil an otherwise perfect holiday.
Would definitely return but would bring my own mattress topper next time.
Lovely walks and beautiful villages all close by, great cycle ride around Carsington waters, much to see and do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldpoet12, Manager at The Old Poets' Corner, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank-you for your comments, just to let you know that we have taken the advice on board and are currently looking into purchasing mattress toppers for the beds in our holiday cottage. We will not be purchasing new mattresses as the mattresses themselves were only purchased recently along with the new beds. Thanks again for your comments. Michelle Rafter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    45
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
71
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

As serious pub people we picked The Old Poets' Corner from the Good Beer Guide, partly because of the brewery attached and partly because of the location - ideal for Hardwick, Haddon, Chatsworth and Bolsover, all of which were on our agenda. Rooms small but perfectly formed with soap, shampoo, shower gel, tissues supplied. Breakfast excellent with fruit and cereals to start with and any variation of the full English to follow plus masses of tea and coffee on demand. Beer (whether from their own brewery or guests) in "tip top" condition according to the three beer drinkers in the party (as the sole lager drinker I was pleased to find Grolsch on tap). Evening meals a little scary portion-wise for soft Southerners but very good, with a special mention for the curry on the Sunday "curry night". The staff were all friendly, efficient and helpful ( a problem with the shower in our friends' room was met with a promise to sort it out that day whilst we were out or move them to a different room). The pub is, deservedly, very popular with locals and was very busy the whole time we were there, which added to a great weekend.

Room Tip: We had "Burns" which I would definitely recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Full English breakfast was excellent. Evening meal also excellent without any stupid trimmings. Wide range of real ales complimented with ciders. If you're in the area this should be the place for an overnight (or two).

Room Tip: If you are a CAMRA member don't forget your card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have been a regular of the poets corner for many years until I moved away. So today being in that area my friend and I decided to pop in for a carvery, I was shocked at how much the place had gone downhill! The bar staff were as always fantastic and the pub was clean and again as always the beer was beautiful. We went into the dining room where we were informed there were seats reserved for a party they forgot to tell us it was a stag party of very rowdy young men(i'm in my 20's so not a snooty old woman) who got increasingly ruder as the meal went on. I digress. We got to the carvery the beef was overcooked and chewy, the potatoes were dry, the Yorkshire puddings were burnt, the veg was pretty much raw and the gravy looked like dirty dishwater with about the same consistency its only saving grace was the turkey and pork which were both fantastic, then to cap it all we were told we would have to wait half an hour for some mash and waiting staff were like mosquitoes interrupting at 10minute intervals to see if we were enjoying our meal. We drank our drinks it was only then we noticed the glasses were that old they were severely scratched, we went to the toilets and they were filthy also paper strewn all over.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We visited Old Poets corner on Wed 11th July during a busy lunchtime for my mother-in-law's birthday. My father-in-law had visited a couple of weeks earlier with a group of friends when they were out walking and was pleasantly suprised to find it was the same young lady behind the bar, and even more suprised that she had remembered the beer he had been drinking!! Despite being busy, we were found a table in the quieter 'restaurant' area of the pub, still as cosy as the rest of the pub, just not as loud.

Due to there being a few of us, we got to sample quite a few dishes off the menu. The home-battered fish is fantastic, really crispy and light and the range of hand-made sausages is impressive as well. In fact, there wasn't a single fault to find with any of our meals, the portions were more than generous and not at all badly priced.

After seeing the sweets menu, some of us just had to find room to sample some of the homemade desserts. We opted for a couple of different crumbles and a cheesecake, all of which were great.

All in all, it was a fantastic meal, the staff are really friendly and find time to make your experience just that little more personal. After dining here for lunch, I can't wait to come back on an evening for a candlelit meal, anniversary only a few weeks away!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed at the Old Poets' Corner following a day of running and walking in the Derbyshire Dales.
Had an excellent evening, lots of great beer to choose from, excellent food (the pies are highly recommended), friendly staff and great atmosphere.
Nicely rounded off with good night's sleep and a hearty cooked breakfast.
Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed on Saturday night 7 July for B & B and to say we were disappointed is putting it mildly. We did not eat in the pub as we had attended a lunch party nearby earlier. We were greeted by very friendly staff and shown to our room and this is where it all went downhill. We stayed in the Burns Room which smelt strongly of disinfectant but on opening the window we then got the full blast of food cooking in the kitchen as we later noticed we were directly above a ventilation unit from the kitchen. There were also large cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. Unfortunately breakfast the next morning did not redeem the situation as the buffet table contained a small serving dish of tinned grapefruit, a plate containing 1 orange, 1 apple and 1 pear and various small packets of cereal together with a jug of orange juice. I did ask if there were any yoghurts but was told they had had a run on them the previous day and there was no delivery on a Sunday. We did have the choice of a cooked breakfast which was adequate. The only way back to our room was via the kitchen and as the front door was locked the only exit door we could use was to the car park which took us past overflowing waste bins. We have no complaints about the staff we saw who where very helpful but feel the management need to vastly improve the B & B side of the business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Poets' Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Poets' Corner

Address: 1 Butts Road, Ashover, Chesterfield S45 0EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Ashover
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashover
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Old Poets` Corner Hotel Ashover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Poets' Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.