We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay at the Manor House Hotel -8th June 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor House Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 14 High Street, Dronfield S18 1PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Dronfield
seaham
1 review
“Overnight stay at the Manor House Hotel -8th June 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was our first visit to the hotel and we really enjoyed our overnight stay. Great value for money, the room was very clean and tidy. The breakfast was very good and the staff very pleasant. We booked earlier in the week via laterooms.com. We would highly recommend the hotel and no doubt we will be booking up again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Ian and Judith

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our property.

Kind regards and many thanks
Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    31
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
39
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed one night and were shown to a bedroom with a 6 foot ceiling. As hubby is taller than this we were upgraded to the 'Audrey Hepburn' suite. Clean comfortable bed and bathroom, unfortunately the showerhead was split so water sprayed every where. Heating failed to come on and we had to ask twice!! View from the window onto pretty street could be enhanced by a lace panel and curtains rather than just the pull up blind. Staff very friendly, food very good. Hotel is a misnomer as this is an Inn with bedrooms above a small bar open till 1am and small restaurant. To access rooms, guests have to go outside and up steep steps through the car park. There is no garden, as it is located right on the High Street. To be honest, with so many lovely places to stay nearbye for the same cost and less, we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Sorry that your stay was not something that you expected.

We do take comments on board and change things that is possible, I can confirm that we have fixed the shower head of the Hepburn suite and sorry that it was like this the night you stayed with us.

kind regards
Danielle Hodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Widdop - We stayed in the Loren Suite, previous stay in the Hepburn Suite..... I have to say that our first stay was fabulous, hence our return visit. We stayed on a very busy Friday night, and hoped for a repeat of our first stay.I can honestly say that the hotel is very beautiful and the rooms first class, very comfortable bed, all the staff were amazing as usual especially Danielle in the restaurant, and the food amazing! however, my husband and I returned to our room about 11pm in the evening for a quiet drink and some relaxed time before bed. This never happened, the noise in the Loren suite is unbearable, you can even feel the beat of the music through the floor. This continued until 1.00am, although it states in the residents information that this finishes as midnight x7 days per week. You could hear people's conversations through the floor in the en-suite! no bed/sleep until 1.30am, then all we could hear was the moving of tables and chairs downstairs for the next morning..... it is such a shame as we were previously in love with the hotel after our previous stay. Needless to say we will not be returning again to the Manor House, and will look elsewhere for a more quiet place to stay. We spent £95.00 for one night in a luxury suite, which turned into a break from hell given the noise.

Room Tip: If you book a suite,,, go for the Hepburn
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Widdop

Thank you for your review. I am deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy your second stay with us on Friday 24th May 2013. I did make you aware on check in with you being in the Loren suite that we have a very busy, lively, vibrant bar, but you was aware of that with staying before and that the music stopped at 1pm and we closed at 1.30pm, this at the time of check in you said wasn't a problem. I am disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay and disappointed that this wasn't mentioned on check out as we would have been able to discuss this further.

Thank you for the kind comments of Danielle our supervisor I will ensure to pass this over to her.

I do hope that you would be able to return and try us again and it be like your first night.

Kind regards

Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013. Only a few mins walk from the train station, very friendly staff and really popular (friday evening) and accomodating resturant. Stayed in the Garbo room, which was very nice but with low ceilings (it's a 17th centuary building!). Would definately recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards and many thank

Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

In the middle of nowhere booked an hour before we arrived but 1st class service excellent choice of food for evening meal couldn't fault it, breakfast cooked to order would defo stay again, staff very helpful

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kind regards and many thanks
Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the room overlooking the car park on the 1st floor. The bed was tiny and sloping to one side it was very uncomfortable to sleep in and needs replacing. The bar and restaurant were nice and vibrant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant.
We take all comments on board and we have replaced the mattress to ensure that the next guest is to enjoy their stay.
We do hope you visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards and many thanks
Danielle Hodge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay near Sheffield and chose The Manor House in Dronfield. The room was very small but nice and clean. The en-suite bathroom was tiny but again nice and clean. Our room had tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. We booked through booking.com and got breakfast included. The bar is open late to residents and has a good atmosphere. There's not much to do in Dronfield but it does have four or five pubs nearby. The Green Dragon was particularly busy on Saturday night. Overall it was a pleasant stay and all the staff were friendly and helpful but its location isn't great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments.
We hope to see you again in the future
Kind regards and many thanks
Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 High Street, Dronfield S18 1PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Dronfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Dronfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are based in a market town of Dronfield, which is 10-15 mins drive to either Sheffield or Chesterfield. The Manor House offers rooms of exceptional grace and comfort. There are 2 suites, 5 double bedrooms and 4 single bedrooms. Each room has been individually styled by a local designer to offer "an experience" rather than just a stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.