We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great country pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crispin

The Crispin
Main street | Great longstone, Great Longstone DE45 1TZ, England
+44 1629 640237
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: English, Seafood, Pub, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great country pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is what a country pub should be like. The landlord was welcoming as was the fire on a cold day. The menu written on a large chalk board was extensive and it was hard to choose what to eat.

We selected fish and chips and we were not disappointed. The portions were generous and it was well cooked, not greasy or too dry.

This is definitely on my 'regular' pub stop list!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice English Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Traditional English pub. Don't expect any Contemporary features. Great selection of food and beers. Quite old fashioned inside.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hadn't been here for years as we've lived elsewhere so it was lovely to have a warm welcome from the landlord and staff and the open fire.

There is an extensive menu with a few veggie options; I don't like goat's cheese. didn't fancy a baked spud, so had mushroom soup which was absolutely delicious, served with a warm bread roll. My husband had fish and chips....the last time I saw a fish that size was in athe film Moby Dick! The chips were like door steps, but more importantly, he said it was all cooked to perfection and was well worth the price (I think it was £10.95). This was all perfect pub grub, just as it should be, served by friendly staff.

The pub wasn't busy, the usual collection of locals and walkers, but the atmosphere is warm and friendly, the food really good and the prices very reasonable. What more could you want!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great time yet again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

After spending New Year's Day evening at the start of 2012 at the Crispin, we were very pleased with the welcome we received and the food served to us (party of 4). Finding myself, partner, brother and his wife there again in early Spring 2012 we were delighted that the landlord remembered our first visit to the Crispin Inn. (Probably once seen never forgotten!)

Myself and my partner found ourselves again in the area in late Autumn and we decided to visit the Crispin and have our evening meal there. After consulting with our friends we decided to book our evening meal there on New Year's Eve to see in 2013 as we were staying close by in Bakewell. When the night came we had a great time and received a warm welcome yet again and had a great meal and drinks. Would not hesitate in recommending the Crispiin Inn to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good value, welcoming local pub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Great Longstone over New Year and ate here twice. On both occasions the food was excellent, good value and staple pub fare but well cooked and served. The host and his staff were excellent and made both visits very enjoyable. Would recommend this place for good food, good local ales and warming log fire, as well as great staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crispin also viewed

Great Longstone, Derbyshire
Little Longstone, Derbyshire
 
Litton, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Crispin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crispin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.