We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitton Lodge

Save Saved
You added Whitton Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Whitton Lodge
Chesterfield Road | Nr Chesterfield, Hardstoft, Chesterfield S45 8AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hardstoft B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had an excellent few days here. The rooms were lovely and clean and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Although we arrived early we were warmly welcomed and given a guided tour and shown how to work the sauna and hot tub.
The breakfasts were cooked to order and had everything you would expect in a Yorkshire B&B including fresh fruit, nice yoghurts, delicious full English cooked breakfast, muffins and more.
We enjoyed using the hot-tub in the garden which was very relaxing and soothing after a day of walking and sightseeing.
We walked to Hardwick House on our first day so the location is excellent for those who like walking or visitng historical buildings. We had a lovely visit to Bolsover Castle too which I can recommend; it includes an interesting audio guide in the entrance charge.
All in all we had a lovely stay and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: If you like to use the hot tub the garden rooms are the closest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
23
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked a room at Whitton Lodge for one night as a halfway stop from the South West to the North East. We had a friendly greeting by the owner on arrival and shown the facilities.
Our room was large, well appointed with a comfortable sofa and a well presented en-suite bathroom. The whole place was immaculate and nicely decorated.
A wide choice of breakfast freshly cooked and served in a very pleasant dining room.
Visitors also have the use of a hot tub.
The owners have gone to a lot of trouble to provide all the little details which make for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the bedroom over the guest day room as it is simply enormous with a panoramic window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went for a weekend away. Whitton lodge is comfortable and perfect for a couple of nights relaxtion. Can't wait to go back and stay again without the SNOW. (bad timing). Whitton lodge was clean and had everything you need. Breakfast was cooked to perfection and the staff were very helpful and friendly. There also a pub within 2 minutes walking so yu dont have to go far for dinner either. Also a good location for getting out and about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Loved this place sit day dreaming about it at work now. Very clean very peaceful and generally lovely. Loved our room with french windows looking over the garden and very close to the hot tub - my fav bit. Tea coffee facilities in the room a must for me. Lucious breakfast full english and then muffins and fruit with tea, coffee and juices to chose from.

Robes and towels in the rooms and nice and spacious.

Loved feeding the goats even though I probably wasn't supposed to.

TV and dvd player in the room.

Only downside is that checkout is 10.30 and that is too early for me I am a noon checkout person.

Breakfast served til 9.30 and you order night before so it is all ready for you.

Lovely pub down the road that we went to for a drink but couldnt have food as there was a wedding gutted! Advisable to book if you want a meal there in case this is the case again and it looks like it gets busy.

We went to the canarvon down the road and had a pleasant meal and evening there instead.

Could do with signposting a little better.

Overall lovely people and a lovely place saving up to go back can't wait.

Room Tip: I love the outside rooms with the french windows over looking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buxton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I took my boyfriend to Whitton Lodge for his birthday, and we both really enjoyed our stay. The owners are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble. The jacuzzi and steam room were lovely and relaxing, and not too busy. By far the best part of the stay was the delicious breakfast.... A good selection, good sized portion and high quality products. I'd love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s o t
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I agree with previous reviewers that it is not well signposted however that is where the negatives end. We visited to celebrate my wife's birthday and had a great time.
The lodge is hidden away a is very well presented with a superb visitors lounge with comfy furniture, tv and full sized snooker table and also there is a 'honesty bar' for drinks which i think is a great idea. the food was made to order and was of excellent quality. We stayed in room number 8 which was spacious and well furnished with a communal hot tub outside our door. We would have stolen the hot tub but couldn't get it in our car. The tub was superb. Location was great with an excellent restaurant/bar a 2 minute walk away (Famous Shoulder) and another excellent restaurant/bar (Canaervon) about 3 miles away. You are also very close to Hardwick Hall and Bolsover Castle. Summary a great 2 night break and we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: If you fancy being at ground floor level in the garden and near the hot tub choose 8,9,10 room. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Let's start with the one downside: it is not well signposted, so can be difficult to find in the dark.

Now the plus. Wonderfully friendly people...the first time I have ever been asked when I have finished breakfast (I was last in by then) whether I was sure I'd had enough (and it was really good too).

Rooms are v comfortable and it is extremely quiet, tucked about 60 yards away from the road. It

I could go on and on abotu how good it was, but since everyone el;se has, I'll just say - they were right!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whitton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitton Lodge

Also Known As:
Whitton Hotel Chesterfield
Address: Chesterfield Road | Nr Chesterfield, Hardstoft, Chesterfield S45 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Hardstoft
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hardstoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitton Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.