We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pack Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pack Horse Inn to your Saves list
Pack Horse Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Mellor Road | High Peak, Peak District National Park, New Mills SK22 4QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 New Mills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sandy, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just come back from a weekend in the Peak District, where we stayed at the Packhorse Inn, New Mills. Very quaint little inn, excellent food and sat in front of the fire yesterday afternoon with a pint on good ale, a steak sandwich and fantantastic view over the dale was simply idyllic. Very friendly inn, we paid the extra £10 to stay in the exceutive room and boy was it worth it.
Would definitely revisit and would definitely recommend the Packhorse Inn. Never normally place such reviews on this website, although I always check for reviews first before booking. In this instance though, I felt it worth the effort.

Room Tip: Pay the extra tenner !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    40
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
124
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Martino in Rio, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I went there for business and I was amazed by the niceness of the place and politeness of the people working there. I got the room above the kitchen and there were no noise or smells reaching the room. The food and beers in the pub are also delicious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is our fourth visit to the pack horse inn and again we was not disappointment how welcome we felt. The room and food again was of a high standard especially the Lamb Henry yum yum !! . Looking forward to next years visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed an overnight stay here in a fabulous room. So many nice little extra touches like quality toiletries, iPod docking station, fresh fruit basket and air conditioning and spotlessly clean. There is a really pretty outside beer garden, immaculaty presented and of a good size, the rain prevented us from getting out there on this trip, maybe next time! The bar is very traditional in appearance. Open log fires & lots of brasses. Not quite to our taste but there is nothing wrong with it. Food comes in very generous portions and is so reasonably priced! Really loved the plaice goujons though the sauce with the salmon pasta was, in my opinion, far too sweet & bland. A little disappointed that the bar and evening restaurant menu are one and same, especially when you are dining for lunch and dinner. However, the food was good and as I say amazing value for money, a 10oz steak with all the trimmings for less than £15!! And you MUST try it with the Stilton sauce, sublime! Staff are very friendly & welcoming. All in all a great place, can't wait to come back in Spring & Summer!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I'm currently enjoying a 2-night stay at this lovely pub: it's so good I wish I was staying a week I cannot fault this excellent pub - staff, food, room, location all excellent. The great breakfast has set me up for a 6-mile walk next.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west malling
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in the Pack Horse Inn recently with my daughter who is at University in Manchester. Normally I stay in the City Centre when I visit her however we decided to stay in the Peaks and enjoy some scenery. Gald we did I would definately stay here again. Extremely clean, nice decor and friendly staff. Good pub grub.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night en route to Buxton with our 3 year old and were greeted with wonderful service, a spotlessly clean and spacious room with a double and single bed, lovely linens, a great range of tea/coffee, water and even fruit/sweets on arrival. There is a cosy bar area with log fire as well as a restaurant. We dined in the bar where food is served all day Fri-Sun, the food and ale was top notch. The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was a bother and they even posted a couple of items which we accidentally left in the room. We would highly recommend the inn and would love to return in the summer to enjoy the beautiful gardens surrounding the inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pack Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pack Horse Inn

Address: Mellor Road | High Peak, Peak District National Park, New Mills SK22 4QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > New Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pack Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional inn , family owned for over thirty years. Located on the edge of the Peak district yet convenient for Manchester, Stockport and Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Pack Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pack Horse Hotel New Mills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pack Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.