We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, felt very welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Mills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park
Save
You added Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park to your Saves list
Shaw Farm, New Mills SK22 4QE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay, felt very welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I found the caravan (the farm offers basic, intermediate and deluxe - we booked basic) to be comfortable and well equipped for what we needed. They provided a travel cot for the baby, and pillows and duvets (guests asked to bring their own bed linen). The caravan had a flat screen TV, DVD player, microwave etc. Also nice to be supplied books, dvds and jigsaws along with some little children's books and toys.

Shower nice and hot, gas fire in the lounge made the whole caravan nice and cosy, and we only felt the cold one night (snowing). There are swings, sandpit and a selection of outdoor toys.

Being a farm, the site has lots of animal noises and smells, but it was all good. Chickens wandering around and a (practically domesticated) pheasant, a gorgeous white horse, a lovely (albeit shy) sheepdog and a selection of cows, calves and bulls. The farmer, his wife, and his son were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We went in to see the milking and George (the famer) took the time to talk to us throughout and show us how they collected the milk and about the famr in general. His wife would always stop and chat, and we felt comfortable walking around looking at the animals and the farm.

I would definetly go again, especially as we had to leave a couple of days early (our daughter took ill so we needed to return home), and would recommend to others. There are two local pubs, one of which we visited and enjoyed (The Pack Horse Inn), the other of which we had planned to go to if we hadn't had to leave early.

The only challenge we had was getting to the farm using our SatNav as is wanted to take us up a rickety old road that even a Land Rover would have struggled with. My tip would be to set your SatNav for the Golf Course, which is adjacent to the farm, as this will lead you up a much better (steep, but tarmac'd) road.

Room Tip: The basic caravan is located right next to the children's outdoor toys, so they could play out w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Owner at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for the review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay but your right about sat navs being unable to find us, its a real pain and people often end up getting lost! Hope to see you again, (now you know how to find us!)

Graham Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
27
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I booked three nights in caravan six at the end of February for myself, my friend and our two children aged 3 and 5. On arrival we were very impressed by how clean and modern the carvan was. The owners had obviously made real efforts to make it feel homely and welcoming and it was warm and comfortable. We had brought our own supplies of washing up liquid, toilet rolls etc but were pleasantly suprised to find that they were provided. The kitchen was very well stocked and included children's bowls, cutlery etc. The children enjoyed watching the dvds that were provided and playing with the toys they found in the cupboard.

I slept in the double room and found the mattress as comfortable as my bed at home. The shower was excellent.

On our first afternoon we headed down to the farm buildings where we were given an extremely warm welcome from George and invited to watch the milking which the children really enjoyed. George also encouraged us to go and see a week old calf who was extremely friendly.

We also found an excellent soft play centre a mile away from the farm. All in all a great family short break.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Owner at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We have bought new double mattresses for all our Static Caravans as we have found the factory fitted ones can be a bit flimsy and we think its one of the most important things to get right!

Graham Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We regularly stay at the farm- at least twice a year, and all the family use the same destination. The caravans are always clean and well presented, any problems are promptly rectified and George, Nicky and Graham are lovely people. Our kids always want to go back every year, they could go anywhere in the world but they always want to go back to the farm! See you again very soon! The Bolland's/Henderson's/Plumb's/Hubbard's

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Owner at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for the review and glad to hear the kids enjoy the farm. See you again soon.

Graham Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

tony and janet,we stayed in caravan three in possibly the worst weather week of this year-rain and gales all week,but we are already planning on going back next year.The caravan was warm and cosy and felt rock solid in high winds,unlike some we have experienced in lesser winds.Extremely well equipped with all you could need even down to a few dvd,s to watch,but the views were so good TV was a rare option.Probably a distance of some 10 miles as the crow flies you could watch planes taking off and landing at Manchester airport with good binoculars-but could only just hear them-best of both worlds.Excellent road links and placing to all areas of the peak district,New Mills itself offers a few interesting walks and usual supermarket etc,could not find petrol station though.A previous writer said the farm track road was rough,what did he expect "its a farm track",and perfectly adequate if taken slowly,i drive an 18 year old Lexus 400,its still going strong and didnt drop to bits.The owners Nicky and George just left us alone to get on with our holiday in total peace and tranqility,but were most helpful with any enquiries etc-unlike some site owners who are always noseying around as if your going to hook up the caravan and drive off at any moment!.Oh,you can take a dog and smoke,like a human being without Leprosy if you want,which is a massive bonus in this day and age of the nanny state and big brother.Going again ?definetly,just hope for better weather next time and the chance to tour around the peak district which must be stunning when you can see it !.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyBurgess, Owner at Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Tony and Janet thanks for the review, sorry its taken me so long to reply! Our static caravans are extremely well bolted down as we ourselves have stayed on sites where they blow all over the place in the wind which can be very unsettling when your trying to get to sleep! We also try and leave guests in peace to enjoy their holiday but are obviously always around to help out if needed. Anyway glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you have more luck with the weather in future.

Graham Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have just spent an excellent week at Shaw Farm. It was our first visit and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It was definitely value for money. We stayed in Caravan 1 which was, for us, ideally located next to the sandpit and swings which our daughter loved! The caravan was very well equipped and very clean and comfortable.

The farm location was very quiet and the views from our caravan were beautiful. We often watched the cows on their way to and from being milked each day.

There was plenty to do in and around New Mills and excellent pub quite closed called - The Pack Horse!

We hope to visit again next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed at Shaw Farm in caravan 5 from Saturday 28th of May unitl Saturday 4th of June 2011. Just to set the record straight, Shaw Farm is a busy working dairy farm with 6 holiday caravans - it most definitely isn't a caravan park (thank goodness!) Caravan 5 is absolutely suberb, a real home from home. It is tastefully furnished and feels bright, spacious and airy with a wonderfully equipped kitchen which has an excellent oven plus there are nice little touches like a sewing kit, a pair of binoculars, dvd's, books and games. The icing on the cake is the beautiful views you have from your lounge window and the peace and tranquility that surrounds you. On warm sunny days (of which we were fortunate to have a couple!) you can relax on the reclining garden chairs provided on your own private patio or eat a meal sitting at the patio table and chairs - paradise in my opinion! If you can bear to drag yourself away from your holiday home, there are some great walks on your doorstep and you're just a short drive from all the rest that the Peak District has to offer. The beauty of Shaw Farm is that when you're there you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere, but it's just a 5 minute drive in to New Mills where there's an excellent well-stocked Co-op supermarket and all the other amenities you would expect in a small town. George, the owner is a lovely chap, it was a pleasure to speak to him (we didn't meet his wife Nicky, but I'm sure she's lovely too!) We had a brilliant holiday and can't wait to go back! We really can't recommend Shaw Farm highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My husband & I have visited Shaw Farm over many years and have always receieved
a warm and friendly welcome.While you can not guarantee good weather all the time
you can always guarantee a good stay. Value for money and a lovely location, yet
only a short train journey to either Stockport, Manchester and Sheffield.
Or if you enjoy walking then there is lots of places you can go.
Well worth a stay even a long week end out of season.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park

Address: Shaw Farm, New Mills SK22 4QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > New Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in New Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering Static Caravan Accommodation near New Mills, Derbyshire, UK. The Static Caravan Site is on our working family farm and each Caravan has uninterrupted views over open countryside. The Static Caravans are fully equipped for six people including a garden and parking. There is a play area with sandpit and swings on site and you are welcome to see the farm including baby calves and Lottie the horse. New Mills is in the northern Peak District and has good train links to Manchester, Sheffield and Buxton. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaw Farm Static Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.