We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again - totally outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alstonefield Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alstonefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alstonefield Manor
Save
You added Alstonefield Manor to your Saves list
Church Lane, Alstonefield, Peak District National Park DE6 2FX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Alstonefield B&B and Inns
norfolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Once again - totally outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Manor before, and this time we stayed at their apartment in Hambleton House in the village just a short walk from the main house. This is a real gem for anyone who wants to hide away from the world to chill, relax and recharge. It is a delightful place to stay. It is very comfortable, beautifully appointed and very cosy. The bed was possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept in! There is everything that you need for a short self-catering break - Jo and Rob have thought of everything. The little treats awaiting us on our arrival were such a lovely touch.
The village is the perfect place to stay - a lovely pub and lots of beautiful walks - you could stay for a week and not have to use your car.
We can't wait to return

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October and we have to agree with all the other positive reviews. This place is beautiful and the welcome from the owners is second to none. We were made to feel extremely welcome and at home and nothing was too much trouble. The village of Alstonefield was very pretty and we felt like we had stepped back in time. The pub in the village (The George) is an absolute must for and evening meal or drink. The food was delicious and a lovely relaxed atmosphere. A huge thank you to Jo, who on the particular weekend we were there, was running the Manor on her own, as she said that her husband usually plays a big part in the running of the place. She really knows how to make a stay special. Thank you and we may return one day and bring friends for a special occasion!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

As everyone has said Alstonefield Manor can't be faulted at any level - the ambiance, the welcome, the breakfasts, the views, the comfort .... I could go on but you have to go to experience just how wonderful it is. My husband and I have never been walkers but we were so taken by the views that we had to give it a go. Jo and Robert lent us the maps, offered to lend us kit and gave us really good advice. We loved it and now intend to buy the proper clothing and definitely do it again. No one could be disappointed when staying at Alstonefield Manor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I would like to keep this gem to myself but it would not be fair to Jo and Robert; they have a business to run. Suffice to say this is the closest I have been to experiencing perfection in 'bed and breakfast'. I cannot wait until the next time I book the master suite in their beautiful home and enjoy their warm welcome and attention to detail. Thank you Jo and Robert.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Robert and Jo are so welcoming. The rooms are delightful - we had a lovely old toy car in ours. The food was delicious especially the fresh fruit at breakfast time. I can't recommend this hotel enough, it is wonderful. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Sorry it doesn't have a swimming pool or fitness centre - clicked by accident and couldn't r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Faultless in every way...
My girlfriend and I spent a wonderful two nights and three days here.
Sympathetically restored home with sumptuous breakfasts and gloriously comfortable beds..
Robert is attentive in every way and makes you feel totally welcome and at ease..
We stayed in the Estate Rooms... Total privacy, entering through our own front-door into our own self-contained little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I can only endorse the glowing reviews left by others on here.
We stayed for one night here and wish it could have been much longer, Jo greeted us as if we were a member of the family, gave us afternoon tea in the drawing room and put our wine in the fridge for later on.
After a stroll to the next village amongst some breathtaking scenery, we then returned, freshened up and sipped our wine in the gardens.
Next it was down to the George pub, a few minutes stroll away for a great dinner. After a perfect night's sleep we had a brilliant breakfast and sat and had a chat with Rob and Jo.
They are the perfect hosts in a great manor set in brilliant surroundings.
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Book for a table at the George for your evening meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alstonefield Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alstonefield Manor

Address: Church Lane, Alstonefield, Peak District National Park DE6 2FX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alstonefield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alstonefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque village of Alstonefield and set within an acre of walled gardens Alstonefield Manor provides a secluded setting in the hills above the Dovedale valley. With miles of walking, right from the door, it’s a perfect place to explore the White Peak area of the Peak District National Park. After a day walking the hills you can settle in beside the fire for tea and scones in the Regency sitting room. Take a stroll up the lane to the famous George Inn for an evening meal and in the morning enjoy a candle-lit English breakfast served in the oak panelled dining room. Alstonefield Manor offers a range of stylish accommodation from rooms and private suites, small romantic cottages for two or larger cottages for groups or families. The house and gardens can also be hired for functions and events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alstonefield Manor Hotel Alstonefield
Alstonefield Manor Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alstonefield Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.