We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant place to stay in the peak district” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alstonefield Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alstonefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alstonefield Manor
Save
You added Alstonefield Manor to your Saves list
Church Lane, Alstonefield, Peak District National Park DE6 2FX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Alstonefield B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A brilliant place to stay in the peak district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast home with the added attraction of a self-catering room in the Old Estate Rooms where you can be separate and still enjoy breakfast in the house. They are wonderful hosts, full of good ideas of where to eat and attractions to visit. The house is tastefully and restfully done up and the setting is wonderful. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I recently spent three wonderfully relaxing nights at Alstonefield Manor. As so many reviewers have said, Jo and Robert are fantastic hosts, their house manages to be both elegant and homely and they really know how to look after you. With delicious food at the George (practiacally on the doorstep), and some stunning walks from the village, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Alstonefield and the Manor as a delicious get-away.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After having had to cancel our visit due to bad weather, we were really looking forward to our stay at The Manor - and we were not disappointed. We had a wonderful time. Rob and Jo are excellent hosts and they did everything possible from the moment we arrived to make us welcome and relaxed. The afternoon tea that we were given on arrival was such a lovely touch - and it was not the only one - the sherry in front of the fire was lovely! Our room was delightful with everything we needed. The breakfast was amazing, beautifully prepared and served.
We would highly recommend a weekend here if you are looking for relaxation in this beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Perfect for a weekend break - proximity to Dovedale, and the George make it an ideal location, and Jo and Rob were very welcoming.

Afternoon tea and especially the cooked breakfast were both excellent. I need the recipe for oatcakes!

We felt utterly relaxed after our stay, and would recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: I think only one room has a bath in the bathroom - so ask for this if you like baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east haddon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Alstonefield Manor move than lives up to all the fabulous reviews. Jo and Robert made us feel incredibly welcome and were wonderful hosts. The room we had was beautiful and the breakfasts were just delicious. We shall be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Alstonefield Manor is a delight for a weekend away. We were given the warmest of welcomes from the energetic hosts. Nothing was a problem and this attitude reflects everything that Jo and Rob seem to be about. The food was great, the rooms were large and comfortable, the decor was stunning and the location is immense. Loved it.

Room Tip: The rooms without ensuite really weren't a problem. With dressing gowns and slippers supplied it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A late decision and the expectation of a sunny day spent walking in the Derbyshire Peak District, led to a chance phone call to check on availability for a room and breakfast at Alstonefield Manor. An enthusiastic and buoyant greeting from Jo and I confirmed our booking.
Despite our late arrival, and our hosts imminent departure for an evening out, the animated welcome from Jo and Robert whose clear passion for their striking house and gardens and the wellbeing of their houseguests led to pre dinner drinks in one of the exquisitely designed rooms followed by dinner at the local village pub which was entirely unexpected and quite superb.
On our return to our room that evening, satiated and looking forward the next days walking we spent a very restful night in our beautiful room which was cosy and entirely peaceful. Our room was not en suite, however we had the use of a private bathroom across the hallway and dressing gowns were provided.
The following morning, a pot of steaming coffee was delivered to our door and when dressed, we joined our fellow houseguests around the table in the wood panelled dining room for breakfast. This was a beautifully presented affair of fresh fruit, followed by one of the 'fullest' English breakfasts I've seen with toast and jams served to us by the effervescent Jo.
Our host was entirely helpful with our day’s plans, sharing her extensive knowledge of the area, suggesting alternatives, places to visit, lunch and coffee stops and lending us maps for our day ahead - and her knowledge and clear affection for her own village, its characters and the surrounding countryside was both infectious and quite charming.
Jo and Robert have created a wonderful and very warm welcome in their village, which with their superb attention to detail and exceptional customer service will doubtless ensure a long and steady stream of both new and returning customers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alstonefield Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alstonefield Manor

Address: Church Lane, Alstonefield, Peak District National Park DE6 2FX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alstonefield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alstonefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque village of Alstonefield and set within an acre of walled gardens Alstonefield Manor provides a secluded setting in the hills above the Dovedale valley. With miles of walking, right from the door, it’s a perfect place to explore the White Peak area of the Peak District National Park. After a day walking the hills you can settle in beside the fire for tea and scones in the Regency sitting room. Take a stroll up the lane to the famous George Inn for an evening meal and in the morning enjoy a candle-lit English breakfast served in the oak panelled dining room. Alstonefield Manor offers a range of stylish accommodation from rooms and private suites, small romantic cottages for two or larger cottages for groups or families. The house and gardens can also be hired for functions and events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alstonefield Manor Hotel Alstonefield
Alstonefield Manor Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alstonefield Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.