We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue disappointing food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The George Alstonefield

The George Alstonefield
Ashbourne, Alstonefield, Peak District National Park DE6 2FX, England
01335 310205
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional village pub serving excellent British food. Open fires, real ales and fantastic selection of wines.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely venue disappointing food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is our second visit to the George and we arrived without a booking on a busy sunday recently. This is a lovely village pub which has been truely Farrow and Ballsed and it is a wonderful place to sit and take in the surroundings and enjoy a drink or two. The young staff are welcoming and efficient and the village setting and venue are wonderful and the menu promises much.
We started with Bruschetta of Heritage Tomatoes with Goats Cheese and balsamic. Sounded gorgeous. The portion was generous, bread nice and crusty, the Goats cheese was creamy and flavoursome but the tomatoes lacked flavour and seasoning.
For mains we had Beer Battered Fish and chips, mushy peas and the Roast Beef with Yorkshire, roast pots and gravy. Again the portions were generous and the food well presented. My Fish felt a little tired and tasteless, the batter was crispy and the chips were ok, the mushy peas way too sweet. The roast beef was very average and again lacked flavour, the roasties had a hint of microwave about them. The veg was terrible with a floppy white cauliflower florette, some pale looking green cabbage and even floppier stalks of carrot. again a hint of microwave.
Our deserts: a slice bakewell was disapointingly similar to the Mr Kipling variety and a very gluey chocolate gannache.
We were served by a young girl who was charming, friendly and efficient.
We really wanted to enjoy the food in this lovely place but it sadly didn't delver what it promised. We will be back to try again and hope for better things next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    77
    26
    28
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quality Roast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We visited for an early evening Sunday Roast & we were not disappointed.
We chose roast beef, roast lamb & trio of sausages with mash.
The food quality was excellent, real home made gravy over superb locally reared meat which was both tasty & tender.
We all chose desserts which were a triumph.
If we were to be critical, the fresh vegetables were sparse, & none served with the sausages.
Service was excellent, friendly & attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rude...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Such a shame, came highly recommended by our hosts, but with no service on our mobile phones we decided that we'd set off anyway, 6pm on a Wednesday evening, granted late August but it seems very quiet & peaceful here so to be greeted in a sullen manner after a country walk to be told that 2 adults & 2 children (5&7yrs) were not welcome & they were fully booked - even though I saw plenty of empty tables, the barmaid was less than amused or helpful in our plight, luckily we had visited the Watts Russell Arms the previous night and had a fantastic meal, we were welcomed, fed & watered there so we returned to another warm welcome and another fine meal!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The food, beer, wine and service are excellent. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The bar is small but featured 4 real ales with 2 staff well focussed on serving customers. We met with some relatives for Sunday lunch and the menu was varied including 2 roasts, beef & pork. Our order was taken within 10 minutes of being shown to our table and our food served 20 minutes later. The food was great and we ordered more drinks from the waitress.
I agree with other comments about The George being a gastropub but disagree that prices are high. You get what you pay for and we felt we got really good quality food at a reasonable price.
We have visited The George 6 or 7 times over the last few years and have never been disappointed. It is a popular venue and always worth booking a table if you don't want to have to wait for one to be vacated before having a meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“More an intimate restaurant than a pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Certainly good enough after a long walk in the beautiful Peak District countryside.
Both me and my girlfriend ate there twice.. Whilst both a little pretentious and slightly over-priced, the food was creative and generally very well cooked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Alstonefield also viewed

Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
Wetton, Peak District National Park
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to The George Alstonefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Alstonefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.