We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation in a brilliant location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norburton Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton Bradstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norburton Hall
Save
You added Norburton Hall to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Shipton Lane, Burton Bradstock, Bridport DT6 4NQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wakefield, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in a brilliant location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just back from a week in the Shippen with my husband and 2 year old daughter, Ava. The Shippen was ideal - all on one level so no stairgates to worry about and travel cot would fit in either bedroom so perfect for those on holiday with a little one. Burton Bradstock itself is a lovely village situated between Weymouth and Lyme Regis so it is easy to visit both. Nearby Abbotsbury is also very pleasant. On Karen's advice we visited the Children's Farm (where Ava enjoyed her first pony ride), the Swannery and the Gardens. Ideal for families and couples alike (unfortunately with a 2 year old we were unable to take full advantage of the local pub) I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Velox
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We're just back from a great week away staying in the Shippen at the wonderful Norburton Hall. The Shippen was converted into holiday accommodation a few years ago and whilst showing a few signs of wear and tear is still up there amongst the best rental accommodation we've stayed in. Add to this the perfect peace and quiet of the grounds of Norburton Hall, the ease of access to the South West Coastal path (if you can tear yourself away from the Hive Beach Cafe), and the links to other fantastic parts of west Dorset, and you have the ideal recipe for a great holiday.
Karen's local knowledge encouraged us to do some great walks and en route visit some wonderful places for lunch or snacks.
We even managed two quick sightings of the resident Woodpecker in the grounds - remember to take your binoculars.

We're already planning a two week stay in 2014.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed as a family party and enjoyed it immensley: in particular the Hay Loft is highly recommended. It is a beautiful place, very peaceful and well located for the area's activities. I would cetainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in the Shippen May 2013 with my mother and her Guide Dog. Karen made us all so welcome it felt like home. Beautiful grounds to walk in and listen to the birds singing. The cleanest holiday home we have ever rented with the most comfortable beds. The breakfast box is a must - make sure you order one. The surrounding area is beautiful with a pleasant walk to the hive cafe through the village that my 80 year mother did effortlessly even managing the hill back to the cottage. Karen happily allowed us to entertain relatives at The Shippen it felt just like the cottage was ours. Will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We received a warm welcome from Karen Venn. Very pleasant well equipped cottage in a quiet but convenient location 1 mile from the Dorset coast. Burton Bradstock is a lovely village with two lovely public houses that offer excellent food. Norburton Hall is highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Norburton Hall in February. We loved the open plan accomodation which gave oursleves and two children plenty of space to relax. Did lovely walks from the Hall and were very warm and comfortable - fantastic beds and linen.Beautiful area to explore and plenty to do even in February - especially liked fossil hunting and Hive Beach cafe. Attentive and friendly hosts who even posted back some forgotten socks!
Julie

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had booked the Hayloft cottage at Norburton Hall specifically because it was "dog friendly" and because it had been recommended to us. 

We had no prior knowledge of the gorgeous village of Burton Bradstock, Dorset. The village was chocolate box perfect and the cottage was well appointed and a home from home. 

Within the grounds of Norburton Hall, there are many mature trees and also more formal patio areas.  We received a delightful welcome from the owners and good explanation of heating, recycling facilities, local eateries, walks, etc.  The cottage was warm and light and full of character with velux windows, a stable door and wooden flooring. 

The location is good for accessing the Coastal Path and the areas of West Bay, Burton Bradstock, Chesil Beach and East Devon).  We were also thrilled to discover many 'dog-friendly' pubs, including the Crown Inn at Puncknowle, and both the Anchor Inn, and the Three Horseshoes in Burton Bradstock.

I would definitely recommend Norburton Hall to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norburton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norburton Hall

Address: Shipton Lane, Burton Bradstock, Bridport DT6 4NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Burton Bradstock
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Burton Bradstock
Hotel Class:4 star — Norburton Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 and 5 star gold award cottages in the grounds of a country house retreat within walking distance of the beach. All set in 6 acres of tranquil grounds - beautiful surroundings, no noise from road traffic and easy parking - all within a picturesque setting. An ideal peaceful retreat to escape to. Take your favourite book and relax in the shade of mature trees or enjoy an outdoor feast using the barbecues provided for guest use.Norburton Hall gives you the best of all worlds with its secluded position away from roads yet conveniently placed for all village facilities. Cosy pubs with thatched roofs, open fires, real ale and superb local food are all within 5 minutes walking distance along footpaths or quiet lanes and the beach is just an easy 20 minute walk with a shortcut that takes you past the Church and village school. A good base for exploring the South West Coast Path and Jurassic Coast. Cottages accommodate from 2 to 19 people in total. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norburton Hall Hotel Burton Bradstock
Norburton Hall Burton Bradstock, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norburton Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.