We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norburton Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton Bradstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norburton Hall
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Shipton Lane, Burton Bradstock, Bridport DT6 4NQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
UKSingapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in the Gardener's Cottage from the 16th to 23rd of July. There were 9 of us - my family from Singapore and my sister's from Finland. Our Father lived in nearby Abbotsbury for many years, so we thought we knew the area. We managed to find many new places of interest.
The accommodation was really wonderful and the layout allowed a floor for each family.
For the last 4 days we were joined by my 2 elder daughters and Grand Daughter, who stayed in the Dairy.
We all had a wonderful time and my Grand Daughter thought the whole thing was amazing. Wonderful gardens to explore. The beautiful fish pond etc etc.
We definitely plan to return

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was our third stay in the village of Burton Bradstock - but our first staying at The Shippen, Norburton Hall - and this was definitely our best holiday yet! Myself, my husband and two children (2 and 4) loved the location of Norburton Hall - the grounds of Norburton Hall are Idyllic (so quiet!!) and ideal if you have small children with lots of energy - so much space for them to run around. The Shippen cottage was perfect (and I am very picky!) - beatifully done with everything you might need - and the beds were also extremely comfortable. Karen the owner was extremely nice and welcoming - all in all we could have stayed and just not gone home. Should also say it's a fab location - just 2 hours drive from London, with everything on your doorstep - and just a short drive to lots of things to see and do with the kids. We'll definitely go back and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to even my most fussy of friends. :-)

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend staying in The Shippen cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just come home from staying in the Shippen, as the reviewer before we found the Shippen to be comfortable and clean. Karen the owner was very welcoming but most of all we found the village delightful and the villagers so friendly, very nice to take a stroll in the morning and have people smile and greet you. The area is wonderful and its not far by car or walking to find lots to do for young and old. Loved The Swanary and the tropical gardens, a real must.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our second visit to Norburton Hall and it was absolutely gorgeous! The Shippen Cottage is clean, spacious and comfortable. The beds and sheets are lovely and the kitchen is well equipped. Karen the owner is so welcoming and we were left in peace to enjoy the cottage as though it was our own - I wish it was! It's a brilliant base to enjoy the coast. The beach and Hive Cafe (incredible food) is only a 15 min walk away. Lyme Regis is a beautiful town just 20 mins in the car. We hope to enjoy again next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

So often you comb the web looking for somewhere special to stay and when you get there it turns out to be alright, but airbrushed.

Norburton Hall delivered exactly what it promised. We stayed in the Shippen for 4 nights and on the last morning my husband remarked that he would be quite happy to just set up home there. The house and grounds are idyllic. All the rave reviews about the beds are entirely justified; they were so comfortable that I confess I descended to pulling down the bottom sheet in an effort to identify them. Order a breakfast box as well and you will be delighted by the tastiness of all the food in it.

The village of Burton Bradstock has everything you need – two pubs, two shops, a post office, a garage and a cash machine, but all wrapped up in an intimate setting, folded into a typical Dorset hill. Walk or drive to Hive Beach for the sea, cliff walks and gourmet (informal) eating at the Café there. I was tracking down all my local family history villages and I’m now sure that the many relatives who left the area in the 19th century must have been sad as we were to do it in the 21st.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Plucked from the air after stumbling across it on Google maps - how lucky we got! Fantastic atmosphere, marvellous surroundings, a well-appointed room. The shower was great! Karen could not have been more hospitable and the breakfast was terrific. Nothing was too much trouble. The cottages (we were shown around one) also look terrific. Quiet and relaxing. Cannot recommend too highly! A short break for my wife and I, but a great one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed in The Shippen and had a fabulous time. The kitchen was better stocked than our own and we slept so well in the comfy beds. We were traveling with an 8 month old baby and Karen provided a high chair for our use. We brought our own cot. We used the washer/dryer lots - very handy with a messy baby!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norburton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norburton Hall

Address: Shipton Lane, Burton Bradstock, Bridport DT6 4NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Burton Bradstock
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Burton Bradstock
Hotel Class:4 star — Norburton Hall 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 and 5 star gold award cottages in the grounds of a country house retreat within walking distance of the beach. All set in 6 acres of tranquil grounds - beautiful surroundings, no noise from road traffic and easy parking - all within a picturesque setting. An ideal peaceful retreat to escape to. Take your favourite book and relax in the shade of mature trees or enjoy an outdoor feast using the barbecues provided for guest use.Norburton Hall gives you the best of all worlds with its secluded position away from roads yet conveniently placed for all village facilities. Cosy pubs with thatched roofs, open fires, real ale and superb local food are all within 5 minutes walking distance along footpaths or quiet lanes and the beach is just an easy 20 minute walk with a shortcut that takes you past the Church and village school. A good base for exploring the South West Coast Path and Jurassic Coast. Cottages accommodate from 2 to 19 people in total. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norburton Hall Hotel Burton Bradstock
Norburton Hall Burton Bradstock, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norburton Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Norburton Hall to your Saves list