We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
High Street, Burton Bradstock, Bridport, England
+44 1308 897228
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Anchor for three nights over beautifully sunny Bank Holiday weekend. There are only 2 double rooms, both large and well furnished with good bathrooms. the only thing i missed was a bath. i slept so well in the huge bed and it was great to have tea-making facilities in the room. There was plenty of choice of freshly cooked breakfast and lovely to just have the four of us with personal attention. Andrea couldn't have done more for us. Like an earlier reviewer, we felt we had made a friend. My sister is following a vegan diet for health reasons, and Andrea and the kitchen bent over backwards to accommodate this. We only ate here on the Saturday night, but wished we had not made other plans for the Friday. The menu was exciting, the food was delicious, beautifully cooked and plentiful. Priced well too. Andrea had to turn several groups away, as they were fully booked all evening. I would urge you to book in advance. We all left with smiles on our faces and will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    69
    13
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wymondham, United Kingdom
1 review
“love fish this is the place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

if you are visting dorset, and want a great place to eat, go to the The Anchor inn at Burton Bradstock . food great, staff very welcome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Familly Get Together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Free house pub in the centre of Burton Bradstock with parking. They have a good choice of food, especially local fish dishes, a selection of regional real ales and a friendly atmosphere. Nothing to dislike - good value for a night out after a day on the beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All you want and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Popped in on the off chance to this pub since my parents love seafood. Albeit, very busy and having not made reservations we were warmly welcomed and a table was quickly reserved for us. Dad had the John Dory with spiced noodles, mussels and prawns £11.95. He says it was delicious. Mum and I both asked if we could have the smoked salmon and prawn stack starter as a main. Only too happy to oblige we were somewhat taken aback when they arrived, the meal was huge! The smoked salmon was neither greasy or salty but very flavoursome and the prawns were lovely and tender and tasty rather than watery. £12.95. The crusty bread was also very nice with extra bought out at no extra cost. My better half had the roast lamb with a Yorkshire pudding which he thought was very well cooked and tender. Would definitely recommend, in fact rave, to others.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't eat before you go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food, very generous portions. Fish stew was delicious although it felt as though it had all been assembled at the end...happy to stand corrected on that! Chocolate torte lovely; scallops to start with delicious.... Will come again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
West Bay, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
Bridport, Dorset
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.