We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maile's and Barbara's Raving Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argyler Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Argyler Lodge to your Saves list
Argyler Lodge
52 Ye Olde Argyler Rd. | Yarmouth County, Nova Scotia B0W 1W0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Alexandria, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“Maile's and Barbara's Raving Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This family owned lodge is breathtakingly beautiful from the gardens to the view of the sea. Our room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed the food prepared by Jon, the Chef, especially the light-as-air breakfast waffles, locally grown blueberries, and lobster dinner prepared special for us. Thank you Jay, Lois, Jon, and Alana for your heartwarming hospitality and for making our first trip to Nova Scotia so memorable.

Room Tip: We were in the Captain's Room which has an overwhelmingly beautiful view of the sea. The room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Go for the 2 night "Romance Package". You won't be disappointed! The food here is excellent from beginning (fresh made waffle breakfast) to end (that brownie dessert is amazing!). Perfect setting to watch the sunsets. Convenient location for doing a bit of touring around the countyside during the day too. Wind down by the fire pit with a glass of wine. Even if you just stop in for a bite to eat, you will get a chance to enjoy the food and tranquil setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were able to spend one night at Ye Olde Argyler in early August. Jay recognised us right away and welcomed us back - everyone at the lodge are so very, very hospitable. It is like visiting close friends. Jay and Alana chatted with us while we checked in, and they even gave us an upgrade to an ocean view suite.

The suite, I think it was The Windward Cabin, was simply magnificent - the decorations and cleanliness are just about perfect. Some of the old furniture they have in the rooms are really interesting - in this room they had a thatch basket with the towels and such in it that was once used by a candy manufacturer. There was also a lovely chest at the foot of the bed.

We had supper in the restaurant, there were several tables full, and Jay says they are having a great year (this makes me so happy - for selfish reasons, because I want them to succeed so that I can keep going back!) We started with a bottle of Jost Marechal Foch and the smoked fish dip - I cannot begin to describe the sensations that this combination sends across your palate: absolutely delicious.

Our main courses were also really good - my wife had a chicken breast with cheese and bacon and I ordered the ribs with Jon's root beer BBQ sauce. Jon's ribs are absolutely the best I have ever tasted - the meat falls off the bones, melts in your mouth, and tastes like a little bit of heaven. Jon came out of the Kitchen and sat and talked with us after the meal - he is such a great chef and such a nice man. We expect to visit them in October for their Fall Into Wine event and I am really looking forward to it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

...and it definitely did not disappoint! In my first review 2 years ago, I mentioned that we felt as if we were arriving home to long lost relatives. On our 2nd trip to the Lodge, we walked through the door and were greeted by the family with warm hugs and smiles! It was nice to be home... All was the same. The room was spotless, the food was amazing and the beauty captivating. The only thing new was that we finally met Alana (Jon's lovely wife)!

We plan to return again...

Thank you Jay, Lois, Jon and Alana!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a relaxing couple of days. Food was absolutely amazing. Owners and staff really care. Enjoyed the firepit overlooking the water. Greal location for day trips. Acadian Village is a must. I hope to return.

Room Tip: Ocean view is preferrable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent 2 nights here and were able to enjoy the local beaches and communities from this convenient location. The service was top notch, the food was delicious and the room was lovely. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Many thanks to the very kind staff and owners.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and were well looked after by Elana and Jon. The room overlooking the water was comfortable and food was great. We were a bit surprised at how cold the Nova Scotia summer is and Jon lit a fire for us in the downstairs lounge, which made us feel very much at home. The Inn is a great base for exploring the area or just hanging around and absorbing the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argyler Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyler Lodge

Address: 52 Ye Olde Argyler Rd. | Yarmouth County, Nova Scotia B0W 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Municipality of Argyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Municipality of Argyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Argyler Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyler Lodge Municipality Of Argyle, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argyler Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.