We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wedding reception venue and superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Grianan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added An Grianan Hotel to your Saves list
An Grianan Hotel
Derry to Letterkenny (N13), Speenoge, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Speenoge
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding reception venue and superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I had our wedding reception at the An Grianan hotel February 2012. They provided us with a fantastic wedding reception. The staff were very helpful and special mention would go to Mandy, Dierdre, Patricia and Walter for all their help. All the guests commented on the superb food and hotel ambience. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    48
    17
    10
    5
See reviews for
73
139
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel 18/19th January. Had a really enjoyable weekend could find no fault with any aspect of the hotel. Staff were excellent, friendly always with a smile especially those on reception,nothing was too much for them. Breakfast lovely freshly cooked. Had a beautiful meal in restaurant on the Saturday night, waiter Ben was excellent, friendly and knowledgable on wine choice and helped to make it a lovely night. His attention to detail was excellent. Will definitely be back and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

It is hsrd to find fault with this hotel- but i thought i would be able to use the wi fi in my room and that was not the case. Apparently we were in a room that was known for the problem. To be fair we were offered a different room but could not be bothered packing up again to move and wi fi was available in community areas. Pity thete was no pool but im told plans are afoot to rectify this. If you want to use Wi fi be sure to ask for a suitable room. Would recommend hotel, and besutiful beach nesrby.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast Northern Ireiland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just back from a very enjoyable weekend at this beautiful hotel. From check in to check out we found nothing to complain about. The staff are marvellous, helpful, pleasant and always we were met with smiles. After breakfast on our first morning the waitress noticing our interest in the restaurant ( it is a converted church) gave us a guided tour and answered all our questions with patience and humour! We ate our evening meals in the bar and the food was so good, beautifully cooked and presented. Our rooms were comfortable and very clean. We are recommending this place to friends looking for a nice weekend break. For the shoppers and history lovers Londonderry/Derry (UK city of culture) is about 10/15 minutes drive away . Lots to see and do if you need a bit more than just a lazy weekend. We look forward to visiting this hotel again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending a few days in this beautifully decorated hotel on the 30th/31st Dec 2012. It was such a unique experience I've decided to post my first review of the many hotels we have visited over the years. What can I say? The reception was welcoming, friendly and staff were very relaxed and helpful. The room was spacious and ultra clean, the room service excellent (I've never had a breakfast delivered to my room and remain so hot) I was nearly tempted to look outside to see if it was prepared in the hall way, amazing!. During our stay there were two weddings taking place, although we weren't involved in any of these and they did not intrude on our stay, we did meet some of the guests who were singing the praises of the hotel wedding organiser (Deirdre Hamill). On our second evening we had the pleasure of meeting her. she was a really friendly person and is so pleasant in dealing with the hotel guests, no wonder some of the wedding guests we met, had decided to stay an extra day. I only wish we could have. If you're considering staying in Derry or Donegal don't I mean DON'T go past the An Grianan Hotel. VFM and customer service? This is genuinely a wonderful hotel to stay at and we are planning to return asap.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a brilliant weekend stay. We got stay as a Groupon deal. Can't say enough about the staff, so friendly, attentive and hard working. Especially waiter Max. We had dinner in be restaurant first night, we have never tasted anything like it absolutely beautiful. Beautiful setting in restaurant. Also had a complmentry bottle of wine which was also lovely we had a second bottle. Dinner second night in bar, again gorgeous food and nice setting. There is a lovely buzz around hotel as loads of wedding guests so everybody is happy lol. Room was great we slept brilliantly even though on checking out receptionist appologised about noise night before, but we didn't hear a thing. Only thing would be great if it had a spa! Drove about the lovely towns and overall had a great time and will def be back. We have also told friends and family it's a must to go!

Thank you An Grianan!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have just spent 4 days bird watching in Inishowen staying at the An Grianan Hotel.It was fantastic, the birds were just 5 mins away and the hotel and staff were brilliant. The food was also excellent. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An Grianan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Grianan Hotel

Address: Derry to Letterkenny (N13), Speenoge, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Speenoge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Speenoge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant, classy Hotel and Conference Venue with 43 tastefully designed bedrooms ranging from suites, executive, family to single rooms. All rooms are decorated with elegance and style. There is a comfortable and relaxing lobby complete with open fire and grand piano where guests can mingle and soak up the calming ambiance. The Fort Bar and Lounge caters for all our guests desires with food served all day and a vast array of drinking options on offer. The unique Restaurant at An Grianan Hotel is a converted 'Old Church' which oozes class and boasts heritage with many of the natural characteristics and features still intact. With locally sourced produce this Fine Dining experience is one you will wish to come back again and again for. A classy, welcoming and relaxing Hotel, a hidden Gem in North Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your An Grianan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel An Grianan
An Grianan Hotel Ireland/Speenoge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Grianan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.