We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Grianan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added An Grianan Hotel to your Saves list
An Grianan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derry to Letterkenny (N13) | Donegal, Speenoge 0000, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Speenoge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here recently for a wedding, beautiful building and decoration! Bedrooms are spacious and decorated with a vibrant, modern twist. Check in was hassle free and very quick. Check out was extremely prompt - a phone call at noon to check we were leaving. But all together service was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    53
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
84
151
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My partner and recently stayed in the hotel after purchasing a groupon voucher! We Wer both terribly excited to get away for a quiet few days, we Wer delighted to arrive and find it was everything we want beautiful surroundings and a gorgeous hotel clean and helpful staff! However when it came to Gettig something to eat it was disastrous appalling food! I ordered a fillet it was fatty overlooked and my chips and sauce Wer freezing, my partner had a chicken dish with rice again cold an overlooked the rice was like pulp uneatable! The next night we gave it a second go however it was just as bad. Needless to say we Wer very dossapointed and will never return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

After spending a couple of terrible weekends in Glenties and Ballybofey it was with a heavy heart that we decided to go back for one last time to Donegal and thankfully we chose An Grianan to stay in.
From the wonderful Caroline on reception to the very attentive Max and Ben in the splendid Church restauraunt this place is a joy to stay in with wonderful staff through out the hotel.
The food is of a very, very high standard and while staying in the hotel we could see that they also had very busy weddings to cater for on both days as well....the quality of the food in the Old Church will thankfully make us return to this wonderful hotel and it has now restored my faith on weekend deals in Donegal....well done to all in the hotel!!!!.
Cheers...Paul and Gillian

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had our wedding at An Grianan in Septemebr ths year and it was the best venue we coukd have chosen for our special day. Our wedding co-ordinator Deirdre and her assisitant Patricia were on hand from our initial booking until our wedding was over to hep with whatever queries we had and any other arrangemtns we wished to make. All of the staff were without doubt the best we have come across in any hotel and we were so pleased that we chose An Grianan. The food was outstanding and everyone is still ravig about it! If you want an amazing wedding venue with gorgeous surroundings, mouthwatering food and outstanding staff and service book An Grianan!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Don't delay! Make that booking now! This has to be possibly the most memorable hotel I have stayed at on my travels through six continents, from Hanoi to Vegas, and Santiago Chile to Alice Springs. And in case you should think it, I have no link with this hotel.

I had spent the sunny Saturday afternoon high up in the Glenveagh National Park in Donegal. It was easy to find the hotel beside the broad Letterkenny-Derry highway. First impressions always count and although guests were assembled in the foyer for my third Irish wedding in as many days, the porter directed me through the crowd to reception, the duty manager quietly greeted me and chatted briefly, and the pleasant receptionist allocated me a room on the ground floor, that was spacious, comfortable, light and clean.

I went outside in the late summer afternoon sunshine and appreciated how aesthetically pleasing the whole site was. A modern two storey hotel adjoining a redundant church (the Old Church Restaurant).Two contrasting styles but it works. It is a rural setting looking out towards distant mountains, and with a landscaped garden that is both tranquil and attractive. A place to linger maybe at the castle like folly with its water feature, or at the circle of slate standing stones, or seated at the wrought iron cupola, or looking at the bronze statue in front of the entrance of a traditional Irish bride and groom riding away from their wedding.

There are few other buildings in the vicinity, and I guess you might have to go to Derry about10/15 minutes drive away across the border to find alternatives for eating. But An Grianan offers guests the option of eating in the bar, or in the converted church. Splash out and dine in the Old Church Restaurant.

The architects have created space at higher levels at either end of the small chancel. The whole ambience is deightful. Beautiful church stained glass windows are retained but the artefactsare secular but in an ecclesiastical style - lots of brass candlesticks, church style wall banners bearing the hotel logo, pews but also dining chairs, and a runner in gold and scarlet on each table resembling the ecclesiastical scarves worn by priests, The charming (Italian?) maitre d looked after his guests, like a priest caring for parisioners! A little bit of the ambience had clearly rubbed off on him! All guests take breakfast in the restaurant . While the buffet breakfast servery is limited in size (possibly the former vestry?) variety is still available, and the Irish breakfast is cooked to order quickly.

When I departed promptly on the Sunday morning to head into Derry & Ulster, the foyer cleaner and the receptionist were both very friendly. The receptionist voluntarily offered an apology that late in the evening there had been unsupervised children of wedding guests behaving noisily in the corridors, but thiswas the fault of their parents. The hotel does display notices asking parents to control their children.

I have to nit-pick to find anything wrong with this wonderful, wonderful hotel. If I could change anything I would brighten up the bar area, parts of which look very functional.....but then this is Ireland!

What a pity that the Irish Sea separates me from An Grianan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Me and the mrs stayed for a night a couple of months ago. The hotel inside and out was stunning. The rooms spacious and very clean. Breakfast in the morning was in the old converted church which looked amazing and the breakfast was brilliant. My only one complaint was as the room was very hot i opened the window only to hear what sounded like an electrical buzzing. Must be a pump or a generator. Really annoying. All in all we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
720 helpful votes 720 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I haven't been to a load of weddings but have to say the one at An Grianán was the best. A little birdie told me that the "King of Tory" was a guest and that he was seated at our table so I was looking forward to it, but unfortunately he had other commitments and could not make it. Beautiful hotel in Co. Donegal not far from Derry and ideal for a function. On arrival we were offered refreshments which consisted of tea/coffee/wine/champagne and sandwiches. After about an hour in the cosy bar with all the guests we were ushered into the function room [Tuatha Dé Danann] for the main event. Beautiful round room [a sort of modern replica of Grianán of Aileach which is only a stones throw away] large enough to accomodate many guests. After the speeches the meal was served, and boy, what a meal. The roast beef was the best I ever tasted, and it itself, would have been enough food for the evening. The small army of staff were very efficient and very friendly and my only complaint would be that they kinda rushed the meal a bit. The bar never got too busy the whole evening so we never had to wait long for a drink. After a lovely desert and coffee the music began and a fine night was had by all. A lot of the wedding party were staying at the hotel with the result of it been booked out and we could not stay there, so sadly it came time to depart. What a night, pity the King couldn't make it. If anyone wants to boost their guest list a bit, I'm your man!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An Grianan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Grianan Hotel

Address: Derry to Letterkenny (N13) | Donegal, Speenoge 0000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Speenoge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Speenoge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — An Grianan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant, classy Hotel and Conference Venue with 43 tastefully designed bedrooms ranging from suites, executive, family to single rooms. All rooms are decorated with elegance and style. There is a comfortable and relaxing lobby complete with open fire and grand piano where guests can mingle and soak up the calming ambiance. The Fort Bar and Lounge caters for all our guests desires with food served all day and a vast array of drinking options on offer. The unique Restaurant at An Grianan Hotel is a converted 'Old Church' which oozes class and boasts heritage with many of the natural characteristics and features still intact. With locally sourced produce this Fine Dining experience is one you will wish to come back again and again for. A classy, welcoming and relaxing Hotel, a hidden Gem in North Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your An Grianan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel An Grianan
An Grianan Hotel Ireland/Speenoge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Grianan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.