We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food, awesome Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yew Tree, Lower Wield

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Yew Tree, Lower Wield
The Yew Tree, Alresford, England
01256389224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Alresford
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb food, awesome Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Found this little Gem via trip advisor...after a short drive from Alton we rolled into this quaint little innocuous looking pub! We(4 of us) went inside and were pleasantly surprised by a lovely vintage looking pub with a warm(smile laden) welcome...Took our seats and were taken care of by an efficient,friendly staff member! The pub was very warm and atmospheric, our starter had arrived very promptly and was delicious and gave a very positive indicator of what was to come :-), after enjoying a delicious pint and the aforementioned starter it wasn't too long til we were setting our eyes upon our respective Main courses. The portion was more than adequate cooked to perfection. We wolfed down our meals and another drink...All of us agreed the food was exceptional...sitting opposite was a family of 3 spanning 4 generations, all looked as though they were enjoying the experience as much as we were. We were pleasantly surprised by the more than reasonable prices :-)......A member of staff came to make sure everything was up to the high standards they have set as a president :-).....this guy was working front of house as well as being the chef that had cooked our food......retaining a smile all the way through...amazing experience....Get down there..you will not be disappointed x

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Impossible to beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

By far the nicest pub I have ever been to. I have eaten here on many occasions and tried a large variety on the menu. The food is always delicious and the pub has such a great atmosphere. The staff are friendly and the landlord Tim is always full of life. I would recommend this pub to anyone whether it's families, couples or groups of friends. Just be sure to book a table to avoid disappointment!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Raineys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

If you are after a quality pub with quality homemade food ,the yew tree is the place to visit.
We have had numerous meals of the highest standard ,Tim the landlord/chef is the perfect host and best chef around.
His bar staff are super friendly.
A lovely pub with huge character and a frendliness second to none ,go and try it for yourself ,you will not be disappointed ..
All i can say is FANTASTIC ,BRILLIANT ,EXCELLENT ,keep up the good work Tim ,we have recently moved to Cumbtia so we miss the Yew Tree big time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pub, great food, great team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We've eaten and also just been for drinks a few times. The food has always been consistently to a high standard, good quality. Extensive menu, great choice.....really enjoyed the salads!
The team there are brilliant. Tim the owner is a great host / landlord / chef.
Beer garden is lovely, opposite a very quintessential traditional cricket pitch, brilliant for lazy Sunday afternoons.
The Yew Tree is truly a fantastic pub, serving good honest great food, one of the best!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was our second visit to the Yew Tree in a couple of months, the first being an evening meal and it didn't disappoint. Really great place and lovely pub food. Tim is always friendly and the pub has a real homely warm feel to it, like one big family. If you don't know the area you may find it hard to find, especially in the dark. One tip is avoid the bread before your main food, being a large wedge it will fill you up. Recommend the Butterscotch and Treacle sponge pudding, fantastic.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yew Tree, Lower Wield also viewed

 
Alresford, Hampshire
 

Been to The Yew Tree, Lower Wield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yew Tree, Lower Wield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.