We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best horse riding experience we ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubicon Valley Horse Treks

Rubicon Valley Horse Treks
534 Rubicon Road | Kowai Bush, Springfield 7681, New Zealand
+64 3-318 8886
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horse treks run on a working high country sheep and cattle farm at the foot of the Southern Alps and only 1 hour from Christchurch City - various treks available with 1hour, 2hour, 3hour and full day.
Bad Krozingen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best horse riding experience we ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Before startinf our Rubicon Valley Track with Chris and his horseswe were both really nervous about sitting on a horse for 2 hours. Chris was very professional and made us feel safe. The horses were very calm and relaxed and we really enjoyed the 2 hour track which showed NZ beautiful scenery and had a great afternoon with Chris and his horses. We definitely recommend this experience to everybody!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Pleased you enjoyed your trek with me, Both you girls did very well, and next time we do some trotting!!!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    1
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Must-do and will do it again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I don't do reviews but this was simply amazing. Our trek was initially cancelled due to the rain and I am so glad that we were able to reschedule it on another day and it had perfect weather. The views we got to see were absolutely breathtaking, and the horses were all so adorable, unique and endearing. Chris (the guide) was very knowledgeable and his love for his horses is evident and made the whole experience that much more enjoyable. They were also willing to cater to our larger group of 7 people. Thank you for the unforgettable experience!

Awesome guide, awesome ride :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
You guys also did well, and yes it was a good idea to reschedule as it is no fun in the rain, see you next time you are in NZ

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Good time, very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is my first review ever in Trip advisor. Big family, 3 adults and 2 kids (4 and 8). Nice weather and beautiful horses, views and good company. Even the little one can ride a big horse for all 2 hours. We were all have a really good time. Very enjoyable. Chris is a good guide and teacher. Impressed with his "office".
Highly recommend. Must be book in advance.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks guys, You and your children did well, and you are never too young you ride a horse..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“the best experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The 3 hour ride today was absolutely wonderful!! Chris is a great teacher! Monty was beautiful to ride and had the smoothest canter! Even though the day was very cloudy resulting in no views, it was still my favorite experience in New Zealand! I can't imagine how it could be better with mountain views! If I'm ever back in New Zealand, I will definitely be visiting Rubicon Valley! Thanks Chris for a wonderful experience!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you got the great review, Any day on a horse is a good day, but some days are better than others, Pleased you still had fun on Monty, Look forward to seeing you one day when the sun shines......

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An awesome experience, with the bonus of spectacular views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Went on the two hour River horse trek & thanks to the experience & professionalism of our guides Chris & Johnny, it was an awesome experience. They cater to all levels of riding skills making it really enjoyable for anyone who wants to go on this adventure. The horses are exceptional as well, very well trained & looked after. The spectacular countryside & views along with the little break to enjoy homemade scones & jam are an added bonus to this wonderful horse trekking attraction.
All aspects of Rubicon Valley Horse Treks really make this a must do for anyone seeking this type of adventure whether experienced or not, certainly great value for money too.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks for the review, It is nice to know that people appreciate the time we put into our horses to make them as good as they are, it does not happen by accident, See you again some time....

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubicon Valley Horse Treks also viewed

 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Rubicon Valley Horse Treks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.