We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time, very enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubicon Valley Horse Treks

Rubicon Valley Horse Treks
534 Rubicon Road | Kowai Bush, Springfield 7681, New Zealand
+64 3-318 8886
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horse treks run on a working high country sheep and cattle farm at the foot of the Southern Alps and only 1 hour from Christchurch City - various treks available with 1hour, 2hour, 3hour and full day.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Good time, very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is my first review ever in Trip advisor. Big family, 3 adults and 2 kids (4 and 8). Nice weather and beautiful horses, views and good company. Even the little one can ride a big horse for all 2 hours. We were all have a really good time. Very enjoyable. Chris is a good guide and teacher. Impressed with his "office".
Highly recommend. Must be book in advance.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks guys, You and your children did well, and you are never too young you ride a horse..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    1
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“the best experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The 3 hour ride today was absolutely wonderful!! Chris is a great teacher! Monty was beautiful to ride and had the smoothest canter! Even though the day was very cloudy resulting in no views, it was still my favorite experience in New Zealand! I can't imagine how it could be better with mountain views! If I'm ever back in New Zealand, I will definitely be visiting Rubicon Valley! Thanks Chris for a wonderful experience!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you got the great review, Any day on a horse is a good day, but some days are better than others, Pleased you still had fun on Monty, Look forward to seeing you one day when the sun shines......

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An awesome experience, with the bonus of spectacular views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Went on the two hour River horse trek & thanks to the experience & professionalism of our guides Chris & Johnny, it was an awesome experience. They cater to all levels of riding skills making it really enjoyable for anyone who wants to go on this adventure. The horses are exceptional as well, very well trained & looked after. The spectacular countryside & views along with the little break to enjoy homemade scones & jam are an added bonus to this wonderful horse trekking attraction.
All aspects of Rubicon Valley Horse Treks really make this a must do for anyone seeking this type of adventure whether experienced or not, certainly great value for money too.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks for the review, It is nice to know that people appreciate the time we put into our horses to make them as good as they are, it does not happen by accident, See you again some time....

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Fabulous Treks for beginners and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Fantastic experience, went there as part of a challenge as I was really scared of horses. 2 hrs later was so comfortable I couldn't believe it. Chris and Abby were amazing, scenery was heaven and Nugget was gorgeous once we got to know each other a bit better, there's a reasonable chance I may even be back for more :-)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
For some one that was so scared at the start, you did very well, and I said you would give the trotting a go, and you did, see you next time

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent, do not miss this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had amazing time during the three hours trip today. I did some horse riding long time ago and that ride refreshed my adventurous sense again.
Johnny was a really nice guide and really did his best for me to enjoy our trip today. The scenery is spectacular, had the opportunities to shoot some good photos today. And also the horses are of a good standard, I have some basis of comparison and the one I had today is quite a strong, fast and well disciplined one. Would definitely do it again once revisiting Christchurch.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubiconValleyHorseTr, Owner at Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for the great review, pleased you had some fun on Samson, but I knew you would. Will see next time you are down our way.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubicon Valley Horse Treks also viewed

 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Rubicon Valley Horse Treks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubicon Valley Horse Treks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.