We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAMILY FUN FISHING AND SUN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palmas de Cortez

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palmas de Cortez to your Saves list
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Los Barriles, Los Barriles, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Barriles
Huntington Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“FAMILY FUN FISHING AND SUN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have only been going here for about 4 years now but this place is amazing. Not like Cabo. If you want to fight traffic and deal with havoc then stay in Cabo. If you want a nice clean, friendly,safe place to chill, fish,eat, swim " yes in the ocean " then this is your spot. We rarely leave the resort but if you do there are lots of nice little restaurants that won't brake the bank. My son walks around the pool and the beach and there is no fear of rip tides or aggressive vendors here.This is family owned and operated resort. We will be back in October for the Tuna Shoot Out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
34
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Earth
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our friends got married at this hotel, and so of course we decided to stay there for about a week. It was an amazing experience. The rooms were clean and everything we needed, the pools were clean and nice. Many of our friends were staying there as well, so it was fun to meet up, go play on the beach, swim, and go walk around town. Breakfast was very good! Also the beach was perfect for kids to play in and learn to swim (one of our little friends had never swam in the ocean before and this was a perfect place for her to get that experience!). We snorkeled- pretty cool! I saw rays and many many beautiful fish. It is a different kind of snorkeling than at colorful reefs, but nevertheless amazing. I saw a ray and all sorts of cool creatures. Also, we bought a Hawaiian sling for spear fishing and had some great dinners from our catches!
We brought along our paddle board and everyone had a blast on it, our friends rented a couple seadoos and we towed our paddle board and had a blast! Altogether our hotel experience was amazing. Sunsets and sunrises are a MUST SEE! Beautiful! The wedding was also really fun!

Just up the road was a grocery store- stoked all we needed! The boys bagging the groceries deserve a tip (they dont get paid well) so remember to give them your change! And if you walked around town you could do a little local shopping, and have some of the best Mexican food you will ever eat. Guaranteed. They do not speak English everywhere, but some of us knew Spanish- at least the basics, so we were able to get by, it was really a fun adventure! The chocolate shop about 1/2 block from the hotel had some of the best chocolate I've tasted, and up the same street were taco stops with the best Mexican EVER. The pharmacy was okay, we got what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Have been down twice this year and a third trip is hopefully in the plans. Clean rooms with good air-conditioning. The food at the hotel is very good no reason to go off site if you dont have the urge to. This is a resort geared to fishing but you would not disappointed taking the family for the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just spent 4 nights here and had a very good time. Our purpose was to go fishing and the hotel fleet captain was great. The boats and crews are well equipped and knowledgable. It was our 12 year old grandson first fishing trip and the crew was great.
The Bayside Restaurant is excellent. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The grounds and pools are fun for everyone. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Don't by the meal program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Single word, EXCELLENT! Personalized service, excellent Captains and crew, great resort! I will definetly be returning! Much more fun and relaxing then going to hawaii! There they just want your money, not you. Mexico is the exact opposite! Polite, and friendly people. The only complaint we had was a lack of a hot shower. Yet with 90 degree temps it wasn't a big problem. The only other issue was the occasional drunk loud mouth American. The problem was usually solved after 8 hours in the sun fishing with a hangover. They never seemed able to drink the second day.Capt. Alberto and mate danial were top notch! 8 sail fish, stripe marlin, numerous dorado and rooster fish in 4 days of fishing. I couldn't ask for better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keithville, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

pretty nice hotel,staff was freindly and very helpful they catered to all my needs didnt eat at hotel none but the pinacolas where awesome gave the hotel 3 out of five cuz know hotel is perfect and theres always room for inprovement,dive shop was very helpful and did everything they could to meet my needs,will diffently go again soon

Room Tip: pool beach veiw pretty nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCapeEddie, Manager at Hotel Palmas de Cortez, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks you for the kind words. Each year we try to improve the quality of the resorts. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

thanks,

Hotel Palmas De Cortez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The purpose of my stay at Palmas de Cortez was for a fishing tournament and this hotel was perfect for that. We stayed in the Cabana rooms which had 4 beds in each room, a tv, wet bar, and refrigerator. From here it was not a far walk to the lobby's free WIFI or to the pool and beach.

The resort has nice boats with great captains and deck hands. In the three days of fishing, my boat caught 20 bill fish. Two years ago, I did the same trip and we caught 18 bill fish. These captains know the right spots and the deck hands do a great job of helping pick out the right gear to use if you bring it or they have their own for you to use also.

After a long day of fishing, the pool with the swim up bar was the best part of the day. You could grab a drink from the bar and just hang out in the pool with your friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCapeEddie, Manager at Hotel Palmas de Cortez, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for the review. We always enjoy hosting fishing tournaments especially when the fishing is as good as it has been these last few weeks. Look forward to having you back next year.

Thank you,

Hotel Palmas De Cortez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palmas de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmas de Cortez

Address: Los Barriles, Los Barriles, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Barriles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Barriles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palmas de Cortez 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Palmas de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Palmas De Cortez
Palmas De Cortez Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palmas de Cortez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.