We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place on top of Supramonte” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gorropu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gorropu to your Saves list
Hotel Gorropu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Ghenna 'e Silana | Orientale Sarda S.S. 125 Km 183, 08040 Urzulei, Sardinia, Italy (Formerly Hotel Silana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Urzulei
Certificate of Excellence
Holsbeek, Brabant, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place on top of Supramonte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and were treated like king & queen. Everyone is so friendly and helpfull in this nice family hotel. All family members work in the hotel and make sure everyone gets a warm welcome and warm feeling about their stay. The room itself was very cosy, light and clean, and there were good curtains to darken it at night. The bathroom was clean and practical.
The view on the mountains is amazing! Ideal starting place for a few hiking trips and to go to lovely beaches, even in October it is still warm enough. And the homemade food is delicious too. And all this for a very acceptable price!
We will definitely come back here, for more than 2 nights!
Thanks to the family to make our stay so pleasant.
(just gave a 4 for sleep quality as I like very soft mattresses, unlike most people)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

if you are looking for a place surrounded by wonderfull view, nature and friendly people this is the place to be!
The hotel is placed is in a wonderful spot.  The hosts=family are all realy friendly and they help us with very good advices about where, what and how to visit the region. 
The room we had was just right and everything very clean. It is isolated from everything, exactly what we wished. It is romantic and adventurous the same time.  
I can't  say anything bad! We fell in love with this family and stayed to nights instead of one. The hosts - dear Martina, gian piero and simona are super lovely. If you miss anything there, just ask the hosts, I am sure they will do everything to make sure you are happy. Just ask them. The home made cheese and yogurt was so creamy what made us dreamy :). Also, after a rough trekking to amazing gorropo canyon, which located near the hotel, we enjoy typical Sardinian dinner which was delicious.  If you have the chance, don't leave the place before having this local dinner. Just amazing!
We're really looking forward to come back very soon...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

...Su Goruppo gorge is one of the most impressive and stunning natural beauties we have seen, on the island. There is no better treat than to have the perfect accommodation from which to explore this. Hotel Silana is superb - the people who work are super friendly - the rooms are clean and tastefully decorated, and as for the food - go check it out - the homemade Culurgiones is to die for!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Hotel Silana is the ideal base for exploration of the famous and vast Gorropu Gorge on the eastern side of Sardinia. We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is beautifully laid out. Our room was very clean and tidy, and the views from the window were nothing short of spectacular. The food was all home-cooked and absolutely delicious. Can't wait to return to this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Gorropu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorropu

Address: Localita Ghenna 'e Silana | Orientale Sarda S.S. 125 Km 183, 08040 Urzulei, Sardinia, Italy (Formerly Hotel Silana)
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Urzulei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Urzulei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorropu 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gorropu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gorropu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.