We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Estancia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Estancia to your Saves list
Villa La Estancia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo Cocoteros 750 Sur | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Marion, Illinois
1 review
“A little bit of paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We just returned from a 9 day stay in this Villa. It was the nicest place I have ever stayed. The staff was great and the accomodations were lovely. The security was good. When we made our reservation, the owners started sending us newsletters and a cheat sheet with all kinds of helpful information to make our trip a success. This is a trip I would take again anytime. I would not hesitate to recommend this villa to my friends. NO REGRETS OF ANY KIND ON THIS CHOICE. Stay here and have a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    63
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
298
265
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

A group from our neighborhood takes an annual January vacation to Mexico and surrounding areas. This year, we stayed at Villa La Estancia and loved most everything the resort had to offer. Due to a misunderstanding when booking the resort, we were given $100 spa credits which the wives had used up the second day. The three hour massage and spa treatments were described as heavenly. Villa La Estancia has only one restaurant on the property, La Casona. To get more variety, you can walk to the neighboring resort which is owned by the same group. The La Casona Restaurant has a fabulous menu, however a party of four can rack up a $300 tab in short order. The food was absolutely magnificent, but the price is a bit over the top. I would highly recommend all guests to consider the all-inclusive option to avoid the sticker shock when checking out. The rooms were spacious enough, very clean and well decorated. In my opinion, the only negative regarding the rooms would be the shared balconies. Two rooms share each balcony which makes for heightened need for locked doors. Any opportunity of sleeping with the sliding glass door open to enjoy the ocean sounds are gone unless you happen to know and trust your neighbors. The pool and hot tubs are very nice with wading areas, a swim up bar (unfortunately the only bar) and plenty of chairs around the pool. Once again, I must urge future guests to consider all-inclusive as the drinks are quite over priced if paid individually. Since this resort offers ownership, timeshare as well as hotel, the only method they have come up with to identify the all-inclusive guests is to have you wear a sea shell on your wrist which is tied by a silky string. The penalty for losing your shell is to forfeit a day of all-inclusive status in addition to a $100 fine. I suggest bringing something to enhance the silky string because we spent far too much time looking for our shells in the pool, couches and on the beach which caused unneeded stress. Lastly, give yourself ample time checking in and out. The process moves at a snails pace, but perhaps that's what makes Mexico the relaxing paradise it is.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Second year in coming to Villa La Estancia and loved it even more this year! The grounds are kept incredibly clean and the condos are immaculate. Every morning I walked out to the pool, I was met by a member of the staff, greeted very warmly by Manuel or another member of the staff, towel laid out on my favorite chair at the beach or pool and checked on frequently. INCREDIBLE! Drinks and food by the pool are very, very reasonable and delivered to you! Very nice dinners and nightlife are only a 10 minute cab ride for only $6-7. Fresh seafood, good nightlife...something for everyone! Can't wait for next year!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

I probably won't be able to properly articulate how much we loved this place-- but really, we had the best week of our lives. We were only supposed to stay for four nights and we ended up extending our trip because we couldn't pull ourselves away from paradise. If you want a luxurious, but quiet and relaxing vacation, this is the place.

Our one bedroom villa was HUGE and gorgeous, and incredibly comfortable. We really did feel right at home. The pool is incredible (pool bar was a big highlight), and the beach is RIGHT THERE. You can see it from the pool. You can see it from everywhere, actually. In fact, we would leave the door to our bedroom open at night so we could fall asleep to the sound of the waves.

The staff is incredible-- so warm and friendly, amazingly accommodating, felt like friends by the end of our stay. The entire hotel is immaculate, but really cozy and with some character-- not uncomfortably sterile. And I can't say enough about the room. We ate dinner in there every night-- the balcony is huge and it was so peaceful to sit outside and watch the sunset. Combined with the perfect weather, the hot tubs near the beach, the hammocks ON the beach, the incredible (and pretty fairly priced) tropical drinks, and the amazingly quiet and peaceful (barely anyone there) atmosphere, we really had the most relaxing, rejuvenating and romantic time.

This is not the place to stay if you're looking for a non-stop party. But it's incredible for a quiet getaway. Seriously. Incredible. Best hotel staff I've ever encountered, amazing room (especially for the price), great pool and beach front property and a general feeling of paradise hanging around.

There are beach activities a few steps down the beach (we rented a jet ski from the place next door) if you're into that. And a cute little town called Buscerias is just a 20-30 minutes walk up the pristine beach. But you honestly never have to leave the hotel if you don't want to. It's that lovely. We were enchanted. I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

This was our first trip to Nuevo Vallarta and to Villa La Estancia. We had a one bedroom villa on the 8th floor (2802). The villas are beautiful and as advertised. Full kitchen with all stainless steel appliances. Granite countertops and travertine marble floors. The decor is tasteful and elegant. 32" flat screen tvs in the living and bed rooms. Small jacuzzi tub in the master bath. Two full baths in the unit, the master bath huge. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The patio is huge and well furnished. The views spectacular. The grounds are immaculate and the pool area beautiful. We had a package that included breakfast and the food was excellent. We did not dine at La Casona, the restaurant on premises, but out package included a dinner in our room one evening for which the hotel provided a chef (Patty), waiter (Jose) and concierge (Victor). Patty prepared the meal in our villa, down to torching the top of the creme brulee dessert. The meal was served to us on our balcony and it was first class. The exercise facility is state of the art and the spa beautiful. The first four nights we ate at restaurants in Bucerias all of which I would recommend in the following order: El Brujo, Mezzogiorno, Karen's Place and Mark's. The last night we ate at La Portena, an Argentine steakhouse between the hotel and Puerto Vallarta. The food was good, the ambience not as nice as any of the Bucerias restaurants, all of which are right on the beach except for Mark's. We also rented a car one day and drove to Sayulita which is a beautiul and interesting beach town where the surfers entertain all day. Needless to say we are planning our return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

My family stayed at Villa La Estancia from Dec. 26-Jan. 2 We rented unit #1302 from Brad and Joey Aronson. From the moment I contacted them thru VRBO they were helpful and efficient, and that set the tone for the trip. The villa is really beautiful--2 large bedrooms, three bathrooms, well appointed and lovely kitchen, great closets, etc. The balcony was huge and overlooked the ocean and pool.

Brad gave us a lot of helpful info, and it came in very handy. We went to the Mega (grocery store) which was very clean and well stocked. We ate almost all of our breakfasts and lunches out on the balcony. We have 3 daughters, ages 11, 18 and 21 and they enjoyed being able to do that. We have been to many beautiful resorts in Mexico and elsewhere, but my daughters all said that this was their favorite place.

Per Brad's suggestions, we had dinner at Karen's (twice), Mark's and El Brujo--all in Bucerias and all good. We also ate at La Casona at the resort and it was delicious and beautiful and quiet. On New Year's Eve we went to a buffet (pirate themed!) on the beach of the hotel with our friends (4 other families we were traveling with). The decorations and music were great and we had a lot of fun. Our last night we went to Xocolatl in Punta Mita. The owner, Roberto, was great and the food was delicious and reasonably priced. They prepared a birthday cake for my daughter and the whole staff sang to her. It was a great way to end a wonderful vacation.

I had been looking for a villa that had all of the amenities of a hotel, and this is a perfect fit. We loved having the villa, but also loved that there was a beautiful fitness center, spa, restaurants and concierge, as well as great pool, beach and some of the most gracious staff we have encountered at any resort. We rarely return to the same vacation spot twice, however we have already put a deposit on villa 1302 for a vacation later this year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Stayed at Villa La Estancia for the 2nd year in a row. We didn't think we could do better (suite wise) than last year, but we were wrong. The 3 bed penthouse suite we had was incredible. It was huge with a terrace that was about 1500 sq feet. As usual the hotel was great, the service was great and the trip was better! I highly recommend this hotel. Juan the bartender is awesome!
Thanks La Estancia for another great vacation!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Estancia

Address: Paseo Cocoteros 750 Sur | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa La Estancia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa La Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Estancia Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel La Estancia
Resort La Estancia
Villa La Estancia Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.