We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by stellar reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Estancia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Estancia to your Saves list
Villa La Estancia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo Cocoteros 750 Sur | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Surprised by stellar reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I'm puzzled by the amazing reviews of this hotel. It's nice enough, but is definitely not flawless or better than other hotels I've stayed in (which somehow get ratings of only 3 or 4 on tripadvisor). Good news first: the hotel is clean, staff is friendly, the food is decent, the gym was great, and the on-site supermarket is very convenient. There are some lovely, delicious restaurants nearby, and the concierge was very helpful with suggestions and reservations.

Here's what I didn't love --- the pool area is too small and poorly designed. While there are technically three separate pools, they're right on top of each other and in the same area. This meant that, even if I was at the "quiet" pool, I could still hear the loud people and music coming from the swim-up bar. The hotel room decor was dated and some of the moldings/materials seemed a little cheap. Finally, the hotel only has one restaurant option for dinner, and it's a pseudo-formal steakhouse. I don't know why anyone would want that kind of dining experience while in Mexico, but I guess I'm alone since every other reviewer thought this hotel was perfect. I didn't. I had a perfectly nice time, but it just isn't deserving of a 5-point rating.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    62
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
297
265
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Lots of golf courses, a beautiful pool, spa and great exercise facility. Condos are lovely and have washers and dryers as well as full kitchens. We loved the beauty of the area but service was VERY slow for everything. There were very few people there but it still took 45 minutes to have our order taken at breakfast! The staff was very nice but maybe just not enough of them.

I am curious what the Villa La Estancia is like over the Christmas holiday. If anyone has been there please provide some info about your stay and if you would advise other travelers to go at that time of year. It is beautiful but I am afraid there will be no service at all.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Just returned from a seven night stay at Villa La Estancia. Though this shows as a resort, it is really a fractional ownership property so the units are privately owned and if you an book through Villa La Estancia or book directly from an owner. I booked directly from an owner I found on VRBO and got a great rate. I paid 230.00 a night for a 2 bedroom, 2200 sq ft unit with a full kitchen, granite countertops, 3 full baths, washer dryer and huge balcony. We normally do all inclusive butg decided to do something different this time. We arrived and had arranged transportation from the property. We were met right away and taken to the resort. We were checked in immediately and did not have to stand in any lines. They brought us nice cool towels, had us fill out the paperwork while sitting in the couches and took us to our villa. The resort was basically empty the first 2 days we were there. What is nice is that you have the tranquility of this resort; however, you have full access to the resort next door. The Villa Del Palmar Flamingo is a time share property with more people, the daily activities of aqua aerobics, bingo, belly flop contests(which my 17 year old daughter won for the older group haha) and just more going on. My 17 year old daughter and her 17 year old friend hung out there and my husband and I alternated between the two. It was so nice to have the peace and quite at Villa La Estancia but if it was too boring, we could go next door. Even though it was quite empty, there were many workers there constantly making sure everything looked amazing, taking care of us when we did sit by the pool, etc... A truly amazing experience. One thing they offer is aromatheraphy in your room each day at no extra cost. Just call up and ask for it and when you return to your room it smells wonderful.
I had no complaints and it was nice to have the full kitchen. We went to Mega(60 pesos in taxi) the first afternoon and stocked up. We did breakfast everyday in the room and lunch everyday but two days in the room. We made drinks in our room and goot a Coleman thermos and brought them down to the pool. We still ordered a few drinks poolside but honestly, we only spent 200.00 the entire week on drinks and poolside service. The drinks were 7.00-8.00 each and the food averaged at a bout 10.00. You can order food/drinks next door and charge to your room at VLE. One other funny thing was that at VLE they did not do the towel card but next door they did so when the girls checked out towels next door, they asked the room number and they would tell them they were from next door and right away they gave them towels from next door which are a solid color vs the ones from Villa Del Palmar which are striped and had to manage a towel card. Our chairs definitely stood out nex door.

Overall I would recommend this resort very highly. The service is amazing, the accomodations wonderful and great for a family and if you don't want All Inclusive and I feel you get the best of both worlds. We would have paid more money if we have booked at Villa Del Palmar Flamingos and the rooms are VLE are quite superior so a true win-win,. We did two dinners in and the other dinners were mainly in Bucerias. It was nice to get out in the town and not feel tied down to my resort because I had paid an All Inclusive rate.
Can't wait to return. They are definitely busier during the high season.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We have just come back from a 15 night stay at La Estancia & would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a wonderful relaxing holiday with amazing service. The villa we had (1204) had 3 very large bedrooms all with ensuites & two even had jacuzzi baths. The kitchen had marble worktops & just about every appliation you could wish for, the only thing we missed was a kettle to make our cups of tea in the morning, but we made do with a saucepan to boil the water. The villas all have fridges with fresh filtered water & ice making machines incorporated. We had a large LCD screen & DVD player in the lounge area as well as one in every bedroom. Our villa was cleaned everyday, supplying us with fresh towels daily, and every evening our beds were turned down and a small sweet left left by the bed for us.
The service at the Parilla Pool bar was impecible, Cesar, Mavi and the wonderful Juan made sure we all great fun, nothing was too much trouble and the cocktails were amazing...ask Juan to make you one of his specials. The pool area itself was spotless, the pool was cleaned daily & was always at a perfect temperature. There was staff just making sure everyone had enough towels & were having a good time.
We ate in the La Casona Steakhouse on our first night, and although the steaks were cooked to perfection, we found the meal a bit pricey. A much better option is La Potenia down towards Nuevo Vallarta, it's an Argentinian Steakhouse where the steaks are just as good but half the price (just ask the concerige to direct you).
Also a great place to eat was the La Laguna fish restaurant recommended by Juan at the poolbar and the El Bruho mexican restaurant just down the road in Bucerias.
Being mid august & in their off-season, there couldn't have been more than 20 other guests the whole time we were there so our two girls (12 & 9) did start to get fed up with each other's company towards the end of the holiday, but like a previous reviewer has already said, there is plenty going next door if anyone gets a little bored!
Everyone we met at La Estancia couldn't do enough for you and I do not have a bad thing to say about the place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

I would like to write a lengthy review, but I can just say DITTO to all the other reviews. Our stay was heavenly! From our arrival to our departure. The hotel was very clean and the staff was gracious. The food was excellent, we ate breakfast almost every morning at the hotel resturant. Room service is okay, just know it comes from the sister hotel next door.
The hotel wasn't busy at all, but it made it peaceful to relax. Besides, there was enough going on next door that you couldn't get some excitement there.
I did go to the spa, but only get a pedicure. It was very nice and relaxing.
We did travel with our 20 month old (not too many kids) but we didn't feel like she wasn't welcome. It was nice to have the kitchen because I could store some fruit and juice for her from the Mega mart. Our suite was more then enough room for the three of us.
Just a great place to stay, we will be coming back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

A group of friends recently went to Nuevo Vallarta for holiday. Prior to arrival we decided to rent villa 1302 at Villa La Estancia from owners Brad and Joey. Upon arrival we were greatly astounded by the beauty of the resort and villa 1302. Brad and Joey's villa is by far the best villa at La Estancia because you have a direct view of the ocean/beach, pool/bar, and beautiful outdoors. In addition to villa 1302 being the most beautiful, we paid considerably less than if we were to rent from Expedia or any other travel site.

While visiting Neuvo Vallarta we enjoyed deep sea fishing, relaxing on the beach, relaxing by the pool, enjoying refreshments at the swim-up bar, nightlife in Puerto Vallarta, Canopy Adventures zip-line and ATV tour, tequila tasting, great shopping, and memories to last a lifetime.

We highly recommend renting villa 1302 at Villa La Estancia from owners Brad and Joey. If you want a trip of beauty, relaxing, fun, and great memories, this is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We are currently staying at villa la estancia in Nuevo Vallarta. My husband and I are celebrating our 10 year anniversary and we brought our 15 month old son. This hotel has not only met, but exceeded our highest expectations. We love traveling in the Carribean and Mexico. We travel to one of these destinations at a minimum of once a year. More often than not, we have experienced some of the run-around of being Americans that travel abroad. We have not always received the best service, and our hotels have not always been what we signed up for.
Villa la Estancia is what we were hoping for and more. We are staying in a 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom suite. We rented our villa through VRBO.com. This was certainly the way to go since it was much less expensive than directly through the hotel. We decided not to go with the all-inclusive option. The kitchen in our unit is better than mine at home. Full supply of everything you might need to cook your basic to regular meal. The Mega grocery store is only a $6 taxi ride and about 2 miles away. We stocked up on groceries for the week. We have also bought a few things here at the local market as well as eaten at one of the restraunts. The prices at the hotel are decent and not incredibly marked up. I bought a mojito at the swim up bar today for under $7. I thought that was pretty reasonable.
The service at this hotel is wonderful. For example: we knew our villa would only receive a cleaning service 2 times during our week stay. Our trash cans were filling up since we have our baby along. We called down to the desk and asked about how to get the trash emptied. They not only sent up then entire cleaning service for our room, but they called later in the afternoon to check that everything was satisfactory and to tell us how to get additional trash services during the week. What service!!!
Nuevo Vallarta is far away from the hustle and bustle of Puerto Vallarta. It will cost you about $20 to get into Puerto Vallarta from here. This is not the place to stay if you need the poolside games and a dance club at night. If you are looking for an extremely quiet, high quality vacation, this is your place. Never a problem finding a pool chair. Never a problem enjoying a quiet spot on the beach. Never a problem napping in a hammock in the shade without blaring dance music and screaming drunk people. This place is quiet class all around. Come and enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Estancia

Address: Paseo Cocoteros 750 Sur | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa La Estancia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa La Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Estancia Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel La Estancia
Resort La Estancia
Villa La Estancia Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.